Matthew Blake's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile.

Overview

  • 45 references 33 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Russian
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Teacher
  • Kingston Uni, England
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I spent four years cycling around the world (the website has long since gone but here's an old Facebook group here https://www.facebook.com/Matt-Blake-Cycles-The-World-314728448579537/) and have done a few trips since then, whilst also living in Tashkent, Uzbekistan for a couple of years before moving over to Almaty.

I was hosted a lot while I've been away and have had some great people come and stay, so I'm always happy to help out a traveller in need.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To give back some of the help I received out on the road and to meet people to explore Almaty with....

Interests

Cycling, travelling, football, books; it's a broad range, really.

Oh, and I'm a board game geek. I reckon I've got the only copy of Settlers of Catan in Kazakhstan and am always happy to play.

  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • sports

Music, Movies, and Books

Wonder - RJ Palacio
Toby Alone - Timothee De Fombelle
Brave New World - Auldus Huxley

The list can go on and on and on...

What I Can Share with Hosts

I live alone in the Samal 2 area of the city in a beatiful apartment with a view over the mountains.

If you come to stay you'll have a spare room, a sofa, laundry, balcony and a place to bed down for a few days.

I'm in a central location - a 5 minute walk to Dostyk Plaza and a 20 minute drive to Medeu for the skiing.

Any questions and please just ask!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malawi, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, South Sudan, Sudan, Sweden, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United States, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Kazakhstan, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan

Old School Badges

  • 6 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile.

My Groups