Logo orange

Benjamin Riise

Aarhus, Central Denmark Region, Denmark

Maybe Accepting Guests

40% response rate · Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 48 Positive References
  • Fluent in Danish, English, Spanish; learning German
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • MA in linguistics!
  • BA in linguistics!
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

enjoy student life!

ABOUT ME

Hi there!

I'm Ben, currently living in Århus where I'm taking my masters in linguistics. I live together with my girlfriend Lotte in Trøjborg, a nice part of the town close to the forest and beach. Our flat is not quite big enough to host, but please drop by for a cup of coffee!

I spent a decent part of my childhood growing up in Latin America, giving me a taste of the variety of the world out there. When I heard about CS a couple of years back, I only found it natural to start sharing great experiences with travelers from around the globe.

PHILOSOPHY

Do more unexpected things and never regret!

Life consists of detours, so there's no reason to plan to far ahead (actually a quote I stole from my chauffeur during a ride)

It's all about being happy in your current state, don't worry too much about the future. In the end, things tend to work out fine, so enjoy today!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Whenever possible, my door is open to surfers wanting a place to stay or simply drop by for a coffee, a chat or a board game : )

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've been couchsurfing since 2010, both as a traveller and as a host. Virtually every encounter has shown me what brilliant hospitality there is to find out there and how many interesting souls make their way past your couch.

Interests

Hm, where to start? I'm quite an active soul, feeling terribly restless if I don't have enough things on my hands. So I try to pack my daily schedule as much as possible!

I do a fair share of running (preferably in my weird-looking fivefingers), biking and ice swimming. At home I enjoy boardgames, cartoons - pretty much anything that involves a beer, laughs and wacky palindromes!

I also play Kin-ball, a crazy Canadian sport involving a gigantic rubber ball and a lot of French exclamations. Come along for a practice session!

Whenever I need to travel, I prefer to use my trusty thumb for transport and CS for accommodation.

I should mention that I have a pronounced zebra-fetish, so if you're stuck with some excess attire in black/white stripes, be sure to bring it! : )

Music, Movies & Books

Any well-written novel does it for me! To tell the truth, I enjoy the act of reading more than the content. Reading clears my head, constitutes the last twenty minutes of my day and make my dreams far-fetched.

Music depends on the occasion:
chill = jazz/indie rock
dance = 80's
party = Balkan!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Biking the Iberian coast from Malaga to Valencia and staying with local CS'ers along the way. For me, biking is by far the best way to travel, keeping your mind and body at the same pace.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to play a diabolo, master a kendama and solve a rubiks cube. If you can show me how to juggle, do a handstand or ride a monocycle I'm eager to learn!

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile