Brian Hicks's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Brian’s full profile.

Overview

  • 1 reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Japanese
  • 71, Male
  • Member since 2019
  • Retired
  • M.S., UC Berkeley, Soil Science
  • From CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I've lived too long to summarize! Lived in the Bay Area (mostly Oakland) most of my life (except for 5 years in Tokyo). My work interest is in regenerative farming, and healthy soils - and small scale intensive farms. My paying work before I retired was as a software product manager (real estate, project management)
At one point was fluent in Japanese, but that was long ago... Most recent travel was 5 weeks wandering about France, April-May 2019. Walked between small towns, Trains for longer distances. Wonderful!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Curious. Seems like a good way to experience 'living in' a place, rather than just traveling through. I suspect I will stay in small hotels, AirBnB, etc., mostly when I travel, but also will try couchsurfing. I'll host people in Oakland, on occasion, as a way to meet people I wouldn't otherwise.

Interests

  • hiking
  • agriculture
  • art
  • countryside
  • local music
  • old cities

Music, Movies, and Books

I've played guitar (and sung) in a few bands, and currently am writing songs. Love Brazilian music, Jazz and, of course, the Beatles (since that's the music I came of age with)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Ummm... dove off an iceberg into the Arctic Ocean?

Teach, Learn, Share

Natural history, music, art

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Denmark, France, India, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Serbia, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Brian’s full profile.