Logo orange

Brittany Thornburg

NY, USA

Maybe Accepting Guests

3% response rate · Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Brittany's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 13 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Korean, Sign Language - American, Spanish, Swedish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Photographer // Designer
  • Bachelor of Architecture, Photograph...
  • From Modesto, California, United States
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Meet people. Make friends.

ABOUT ME

I'm a pretty down to earth, open-minded person. You can always count on me if you need help with anything. Laughter is my goal and I'm always cracking jokes. I love being with friends and am always excited to meet new people.

Perfectionist to a fault. Sometimes I try too hard to make things perfect and can sometimes micromanage things. I'm learning to let go and take things as they come.

I'm continually working on making myself a better person, knowing that everyone makes mistakes. My life hasn't worked out exactly as I had planned, but I think things are turning out for the best.

PHILOSOPHY

Be honest. Be happy. Be yourself.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm saving up to do my own travels but would love to help others with theirs.

I recently drove across the United States from California to New York and had intentions to CouchSurf along the way but was fortunate to stay with friends in every place except for one - and there I camped. It was an awesome trip that I took with my dog covering 20 states in about 40 days. There is still so much to see though.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Life changing.

Interests

Design. I can appreciate anything that has been created with a purpose, whether that purpose is beauty, utility or both. I studied architecture in school and am now working as a photographer for a sports company.

I also love being outside. Hiking is something that I enjoy doing alone or with friends. And when I say alone, I am never alone. My dog Kodak is almost always by my side.

Team sports are also something I enjoy. I like to watch and play. These include football [American], soccer, baseball, and hockey.

Recently I've been getting into road biking and am loving bikram yoga. I'm not very good at the yoga, but I am seeing improvements everyday. I am also exploring new spiritual experiences with a particular interest in Buddhism.

I love to cook, especially for others and have been making an effort to try new things as I am a self-described picky eater.

Music, Movies & Books

Lots. Ask me.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

As mentioned before I drove across the US to get to my new home here in NYC. Left the beach in California for the urban jungle that is the Big Apple and I couldn't be more excited.

During my last year at Cal Poly, studying architecture, my thesis studio went on a Pacific Northwest excursion by train, stopping in Portland, Seattle, and Vancouver. It was an amazing two weeks just exploring the west coast and seeing things right in our own backyard.

And the past few years have taught me a lot about life. I've held several jobs from newspaper deliverer, to photographer, to baker, to commercial kitchen prep - sometimes all at once. It's really helped me see what it is I really want to do and given me a new appreciation for the opportunities I've had.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help you if you're interested in learning a bit about design software or photogrphy. Otherwise, I am looking to improve my Spanish, and to learn French, Korean, Swedish, Japanese, Arabic...I want to know it all!

Countries I've Visited

Canada, South Korea, United States

Countries I've Lived In

South Korea, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Brittany's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile