Carmen B's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Carmen’s full profile.

Overview

  • 54 references 26 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Sinhala, Sinhalese, Spanish, Tagalog, Tamil
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Research Project Coordinator
  • Human Development and Family Sciences/Applied Behavior An...
  • From Auburn, AL, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME - I graduated with my doctoral degree in 2020 and moved back to Alabama to live with family until I find the right career. I recently got a job working as a research project coordinator and am really excited to learn from the research team while exploring Baltimore in the fall. No matter where I am, I always aim to find fellow Couchsurfers since they usually make for great friends and company.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING - I have benefited from being hosted, it is a wonderful thing. I have also enjoyed hosting, attending gatherings, and saying nice things about CouchSurfing to people I meet.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE - So Positive! I've surfed in: Hawaii, South Korea, Singapore, Connecticut, Mississippi, Georgia, Virginia, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maryland, Michigan, Sri Lanka, and Canada. I've hosted in: the Philippines, Alabama, Connecticut, Sri Lanka, and Wisconsin. I've partied with CSers in: Manila, Colombo, Connecticut, Alabama, and Wisconsin and loved every minute of it!

Interests

I spend a lot of time thinking about at-risk populations, intervention design, and why social issues are often ignored in in policy, research, and practice. Really, how we can use critical thinking and knowledge to change the world?

These days (in the era of strict social isolation and unemployment) I enjoy hiking and being outside, sleeping, and handicrafts. I also enjoy re-purposing and recycling. I hope to reuse and reduce waste as much as possible and lessen my dependence on new materials.

  • education
  • womens rights
  • cooking
  • reading
  • live music
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • teaching
  • languages
  • volunteering
  • friendship

Music, Movies, and Books

miscellaneous: janelle monáe, rodrigo y gabriela, mason jennings, my morning jacket, kaleo, jason isbell, east bound and down, andrew bird, radiohead, fire and ice series, cat power, feist, parks and rec, canned heat, john lee hooker, pan's labyrinth, izombie, a tree grows in brooklyn, jack johnson, les miserables, curtis mayfield, louis armstrong, john prine, dave matthews, charles dickens, david byrne, jose gonzalez, xaiver rudd....

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Taught a grandfather how to float on his back in the ocean...and watched him turn around and teach another man, who then turned and taught his friend standing in the ocean beside him. We were a floating party.

Teach, Learn, Share

/Teach/ I can outline the basics of operant conditioning and the behavioral contingency ...fun to use with children and pets:). /Learn/ Languages and instruments fascinate me, and I admire people who they seem to come easy to. I hope one day I will learn a few of each really well. /Share/ I am notably frugal and don't mind sharing my skills (but only if people ask).

What I Can Share with Hosts

I would love to share time with hosts and surfers alike.

I can also share my newfound love for feminism and critical theory, as well as some adventures I've had traveling.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Cambodia, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Italy, Jamaica, Laos, Netherlands, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Scotland, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Philippines, Sri Lanka, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Carmen’s full profile.

My Groups