Cal A's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cal’s full profile.

Overview

  • 5 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Mental Health Professional/Musician
  • BS/BA, MA in Counseling
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Hi, I'm Calvin! I live up in Greenville, SC and work as a mental health professional. I also am a singer-songwriter, about to put out my second record in 3 years (very exciting, and SO MUCH work!). I love to fly fish, so much so that my college buddy and I have kept a tradition of going on at least one trip a year. This tradition ahs taken us to Florida, North Carolina, Tennessee, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, New York, New Mexico, Colorado, Ohio, and Oregon. We're saving (or at least we're TALKING about saving) for an international trip, maybe the Bahamas, maybe New Zealand, maybe just north of the border to Canada.

I love reading/writing. I've been working on a novel for a few years, and I'm trying to learn more about how to write poetry well. I've already written plenty of drivel, so hopefully I"m due for some good stuff!

I'm a spontaneous person, but I also have a mortgage, a 9-to-5, and steady responsibilities. That means every once in a while, I have to get out and away, meet some new people, and do what I want without a specific plan or schedule. I love good conversations, and if I had to name my greatest character trait, it would be that I can engage in a conversation about almost anything. ALMOST. :-)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

One of the things that comes with my job is a tangible need for R&R! I desperately need to get some space between myself and my work on occasion and I find it to be so rewarding when in a new place to meet new people and form connections in the area. It's such a wonderful thing to have a conversation partner, someone who can give suggestions about where to go/what to do, etc. I'd take a nasty ol' sofa and a new friend over a clean hotel room any day :-)

I'd love to surf at sometime in the future, but I simply can't right now. Hoping that will change in the next year or so :-)

Interests

Reading, writing, music, psychotherapy, fly fishing, film

  • fish
  • writing
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • flying
  • reading
  • music
  • fishing

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Noah Gundersen, Gregory Alan Isakov, Bon Iver, Sigur Ros, Sufjan Stevens

Movies: Fincher, Scorcese, Malick (depending on the film), Coppola, PTA, Russell, Nichols

Books: Steinbeck, Faulkner, O'Connor, Hawthorne, JL Burke, Conroy

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

"Amazing" is such a strong word!

I recorded, mixed, mastered, and released a record all from the confines of my home living room (which is SMALL!). I think this counts?

Update (1/17): I'm doing it again- the record should be coming out in September if I can get my ass in gear!

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: Adlerian psychology, guitar, literature

Learn: Languages (currently learning German, so I'm especially interested in German!), new music, new cultural practices

Share: conversation, drinks, music

What I Can Share with Hosts

Music, conversation, a good beer or glass of wine, even a little help around the house. (I'm not super handy, but I'm persistent and absolutely no pride to speak of to keep me from a little grunt work). I'm also a pretty decent cook and I'd be happy to make a meal!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Singapore

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Cal’s full profile.

My Groups