Colin Callanan

Galway, Galway, Ireland

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Colin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 18 References 8
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Yoga teacher
  • Computer science
  • From Tobercurry, Sligo, Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Be happy

ABOUT ME

I'm living in Galway in the West of Ireland. I play a bit of music locally, work in IT to pay the bills and teach yoga in the evenings!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We currently have a nice room available.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I first experienced couchsurfing through friends. When in France I stayed with a couchsurfer (who also happens to be a good friend of mine) and she brought me to a couch surfing meeting. At this meeting, we had a picnic outside, and everyone brought food - it was pretty cool. And the people involved in couchsurfing are really positive and it was nice spending time with them. So I decided to sign up and become involved myself.

Since signing up I've had some really positive and inspiring experiences meeting people from all around the globe. Instead of travelling, I have let the people come to my little corner of the world to hear about their cultures and experiences! Hopefully when it is my turn to travel I will be able to share in a similar way.

Interests

Meditation, music, yoga, theatre, vegetarian food, tribal drumming

Music, Movies, and Books

Krishnamurti, Anthony De Mello, Eckhart Tolle, Dhiravamsa, S.N. Goenka, Jack Kornfield

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Annapurna circuit, Walkers Haute route of Switzerland, Westr High

Teach, Learn, Share

I can show you how to play some Irish music on the mandolin or guitar. I can also show some simple meditation that will bring you peace and give you great rest.

What I Can Share with Hosts

At the moment, I'm a little busy so my time is very limited. I can just offer a place to stay, but not much in the way of social interaction, or sightseeing, etc. I would ask guests to be self-sufficient and happy to do their own thing, coming and going as they please using public transport. From Eyre square you can get a 407 bus that comes quite close to my house:
http://www.buseireann.ie/timetables/1425472732-407.pdf
Need to get off before the Tesco express (Skeilig Ard),

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, England, France, Germany, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Norway, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

India

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Colin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups