Cameron Gobel's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 14 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cameron’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2023
  • Project Firefighter
  • Deakin University
  • From Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

I spend my summers working as a Project Firefighter in the Wimmera and Grampians regions of Victoria and then move to Melbourne for the winter to continue working my way through a Bachelor of Wildlife and Conservation Biology. After 10 years spent working in agriculture, I decided at age 29 to throw that career in the bin and go to univeristy for the first time to pursue the career I've always dreamed of.

I am a keen hiker with a great sense of adventure. I have lived in many places across Australia, mostly very remote areas like outback Queensland and Alice Springs in central Australia. This is despite growing up in the outer-south east suburbs of Melbourne. I don't know what it is but the remoteness of outback Australia really speaks to me.

I live for the outdoors (bushwalking, hiking, camping etc.) and going on long road trips. I love reading (fiction mosly) and listening to music and podcasts. My favourite genres are folk/country and sad indie girl music (the two genres don't exactly go hand-in-hand, I know!) but I will listen to literally anything. I bloody love live music. I really enjoy going to art galleries and museums when I'm in a new city. I will try my hand at anything and have far too many hobbies to count. I love a night out but am equally content with a quiet night in. I am queer, politically active and am super interested in indigenous cultures.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have made many friends from across the world throughout my travels across Australia and have hosted a lot of them in Melbourne when I am back there. I have thoroughly enjoyed getting to know these people and showing them the sights and sounds of not only Melbourne, but also taking them on road trips throughout Victoria to show them some of my favourite places. I am now looking for others to return the favour.

I am embarking on my first overseas adventure to America in June-July 2024! I 'm flying into Seattle, hiring a van and driving through Washington, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Colorado and then east across the country to Ohio for a country music festival (stopping at as many national parks as I can along the way). From there I head to Nashville and then head north again to Wisconsin for the Summerfest music festival. I drop the van in Chicago around Sunday the 30th of June before flying to Sacramento a few days later. I would love to experience some of the hospitality that CS hosts are renowned for in both Chicago and Sacramento.

Interests

  • politics
  • reading
  • music
  • live music
  • country music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • art
  • queer
  • museums
  • bushwalking
  • camping and hiking

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:
Charles Wesley Godwin, Noah Kahan, Zach Bryan, Dolly Parton, Brandi Carlile, Hozier, Florence + The Machine, Maggie Rogers, Yebba, the list goes on...

Movies:
I'm not really much of a movie goer but I will watch anything except horror/thrillers.

Books:
The Kite Runner, Tuesdays with Morrie, Jasper Jones, Bridge of Clay, Lola in the Mirror, Boy Swallows Universe

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Quite a few multi-day hikes including the Jatbula Trail in Nitmiluk National Park (Katherine, Northern Territory) and the Overland Track in Tasmania (I saw a platypus on this hike and it was as magical as you'd expect!).

Teach, Learn, Share

I love learning about people and what makes them tick. Nothing excites me more than seeing someone talk about something they are passionate about, I don't care what it is!

I love sharing experiences with people. Be that a walk through the park or along the beach, a story, a beer or wine, board games, music etc.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A bizzarely in depth knowledge of chicken colour genetics and my love for music.

I'm not a great cook when I'm by myself but I love helping others in the kitchen.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see Cameron’s full profile.