Carey Heeney's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Carey’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 10 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Italian, Japanese, Spanish
  • 44, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Teacher at a French elementary public school, alpine ski ...
  • University (BEd, BSc-Bio, BPhe)
  • From Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

My mission? To learn from others and share my joie de vivre with them! I am trying to hit a country for every letter of the alphabet. Missing O,P,Q,X (Chinese province),Y.

ABOUT ME

I am VERY young 44 years old and am excited to try Couchsurfing around the world! I had the BEST experiences in Europe and Africa the past three summers as a 'surfer'. I surfed twice in Belgium, once in Luxembourg, once in Germany, twice in Italy, once in the Netherlands, and twice in Mozambique. I even surfed in Ottawa, Canada's capital city in December 2015! I never would have seen the sights I saw and learned so much about my hosts and their interests and city/village, if I had not tried Couchsurfing!

I am a teacher at a French public school in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. I speak English and French fluently and used to speak Japanese almost fluently. I can also speak a bit of Spanish and a wee bit of German (yes, I love languages!). I am a definite people person who is lucky to have children and animals gravitate toward me. I come from a very close-knit family and adore my 3 young nephews. I am considerate of people's abodes and privacy when staying with friends, family and strangers.

I truly love to do most anything! I love sports (playing and watching), the arts (museums, historical and modern sites, art exhibits, live music, dancing….), languages, and exploring the world with its many cultures, languages, culinary goodies, and adventures.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on Couchsurfing to meet new people, learn of their language and culture, explore their cities/towns/villages and countries while enjoying a safe place to stay. I look forward to our cultural exchange!

Interests

I am very active as I am an alpine ski coach in the winter on weekends and participate in two long distance fundraising bike rides in the summer. I love most everything from art, sports, languages, movies, music (especially live) and learning about new cultures and people. I used to paint, play piano and the alto saxophone, and continue to go to monthly documentaries.

  • animals
  • arts
  • culture
  • documentaries
  • education
  • coach
  • drinking
  • movies
  • chess
  • traveling
  • painting
  • music
  • live music
  • piano
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • teaching
  • languages
  • science

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One amazing experience was meeting a Moroccan woman and her son on a French train and staying with her (couch surfing on my own!) where we celebrated Ramadan with a late Moroccan-style dinner. I also would include drinking Champagne on the grass in front of the Eiffel Tower and wandering (climbing!) around Mont St-Michel. I would have to include my limited couchsurfing experiences! I stayed with the loveliest couple outside of Brugge, Belgium, an interesting and welcoming woman north of Luxembourg City, a kind and caring couple in Freiburg, Germany, and magnanimous hosts in Roma and Firenze, Italy, a welcoming host in Ottawa, a lovely Spanish man in Mozambique, and my Portuguese-sister-from-another-mother host again in Mozambique. I am so excited when I retell my adventures with these hosts and marvel at everyone's astonishment by my hosts' generosity and kindness towards me.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach about
….my adventures in travelling in general and living in Japan,
.…about Canada, Ontario, Toronto,
….some sports including downhill skiing,
….French, English (ESL especially), physical and health education, science,
….Autism Spectrum Disorder and special education in general

Learn
….languages (currently, I hope to learn some Italian while in Italy!)
….about varying cultures of the world
….how to play chess
….as much as I can about the people who host me and their country, city/town/village, culture, language

Share
….I hope to share my own apartment soon as my roommate (who did not want to share our space) is moving out soon!
….intriguing views on life
….about my country (Canada), province (Ontario), city (Toronto), culture, languages (English, French, Japanese), passions

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am a mature (but fun!) woman who will leave your place clean, tidy and hopefully, full of laughter or at least shared stories.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, England, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Mozambique, Netherlands, Peru, Philippines, Rwanda, South Africa, South Korea, Switzerland, Tanzania, United States, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Japan

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Carey’s full profile. It’s free!