CarmePort's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see CarmePort’s full profile.

Overview

  • 69 references 51 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Catalan, Valencian, English, French, Italian, Spanish
  • 100, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • archaeologist, teacher, waitress, tour guide, digital car...
  • PhD Archaeology / M Information Technologies (GIS)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

After many years of teaching in my country, Catalonia, I went backpacking for almost 2 years around five continents of the world and I have been now more than 4 years in Australia working as a waitress and tour guide and travelling. At the moment I am in Melbourne working in IT applied to Archaeology.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I believe that meeting people from different cultures give us the big picture and makes us not only more knowledgeable but also more courageous, free and tolerant. Certainly, my trips around the world wouldn´t have been half as interesting without Cs.

I partitipate being a guest, hosting and attending meetings

Interests

-Sailing, swimming, snorkelling, strolling by the sea
-Hiking, going to the mountain in 4X4.
-Literature and cinema
-Learning languages

  • literature
  • education
  • yachting
  • boating
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • teaching
  • languages
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: mainly European cinema (e.g. The Eternity and one day by Theo Angelopoulus, Il Postino by Michael Radford, Mine vaganti by Ferzan Ozpetek...)

Music: not a big fan but sometimes I listen to vocal jazz (Ella Fitzerand, Louis Amstrong...), opera (Verdi, Puccini and Carmen by Bizet..), Buena Vista Social Club or , yes, Abba.

Books: novels (e.g. The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver; Les particules elementals by Michel Houllebecq; A fine balance by Rohinton Mistry)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Backpacking on my own across Morocco and enjoying the amazing hospitality of local people; living with traditional tribes in Kenya; staying in a surrealist Indian ashram; travelling New Zealand hitch-hiking and enjoying kiwi kindness; enrolling as crew in a yacht to sail in the Pacific islands; staying with the hospitable locals of villages in Fiji, Vanuatu and Samoa; staying with indigenous tribes in the Peruvian jungle; crossing South America through the Amazon by cargo boat, living in Kangaroo Island for two years.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am renting a room in a house for now and therefore I can not host.

Countries I’ve Visited

American Samoa, Andorra, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, China, Colombia, Czech Republic, Fiji, France, Greece, India, Ireland, Italy, Kenya, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Peru, Portugal, Qatar, Samoa, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Spain, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see CarmePort’s full profile.

My Groups