Cate Sykes's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cate’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Working on enjoying life
  • B.A in Hispanic Studies
  • From Manchester, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm from Manchester in the UK.
I have spent the past few years living, working and travelling through South America. Recently I was in the USA and now I'm in South Spain.
I'm open, friendly and laidback and I absolutely love travelling and the new experiences that present themselves with this. I love to try new things and I am open to probably anything anyone suggests, whether that's extreme sports, cooking or a local dance class.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing is something I am passionate about and truly believe in as a way of connecting people from all over the world and bring cultures closer together. My most recent trip was a hitchhiking adventure from Lima Peru to Barranquilla Colombia and all the way back. On this trip we stayed with many couchsurfers and had an overwhelmingly good experience.

Interests

I would have to say that travel is the main interest and passion in my life. The journey is so much more exciting and interesting than the destination in my opinion. I love the opportunities to meet people you would never normally get the chance to in every day life and the weird and wonderful places you can stumble upon by accident. I love the outdoors and take any chance I can to spend time outside with nature.

  • animals
  • culture
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • vegan
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • sports
  • extreme sports
  • hitchhiking
  • tours

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm very open when it comes to music and my taste is varied. I like to listen to the music local to where I am at the time. When I'm travelling my playlist is never empty of music from Buena Vista Social Club and Bob Marley. I also love RnB artist Jhene Aiko as well as a lot of hip hop groups. Chart music is the only genre I'm not into.
I don't tend to watch a lot of movies but when I do they're usually international ones.
I like to read non-fiction books, so biographies/autobiographies and books on topics that interest me, usually science based. The science of sleeping and dreaming hugely interests me so I have read a fair few books on these subjects.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've seen and done some amazing things, most recently would be hitchhiking 8000km from Lima to Barranquilla and back again, staying in fire stations and wherever else we could pitch our tent. I've swam in a crystal clear glacial lagoon at 5000m. I've trekked into the desert alone and spent an incredible night under the stars. I've spent time living in the rainforest of Bolivia with rescued animals, spending the days playing with pumas and monkeys.
Honestly every day of my life is exciting and amazing. I genuinely can't wait to wake up every day but as of yet I haven't wrestled any sharks or base jumped off a huge cliff, if you can lead me to it though I'll be happy to do it!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help with planning any trips in South America, I have a lot of friends that host couchsurfers so I may be able to lend a hand in that respect.
I can also help you with your English or Spanish if you need help with that.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm bilingual in Spanish and English so can help you with either language.

I'm a vegan so I know a look about healthy cooking and sustainable life. If you are interested I would love to teach you some recipes and about my way of life, if you have the idea of the vegan stereotype in your head I would love to show you we're not all the crazy lettuce eaters the movies portray us as. I'm just a kind, compassionate person who likes vegetables!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bolivia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Peru, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Cate’s full profile.

My Groups