Magnus Bjarnason Obinah's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Magnus’s full profile.

Overview

  • 33 references 23 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Creole, Danish, English, Icelandic, Spanish; learning Armenian, German, Japanese, Romanian, Swedish
  • 42, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Medical Doctor, Researcher
  • Medical School, MD.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am Icelandic born and raised, but have lived in Denmark since 1994, with the exception of a year in Guinea-Bissau and 6 months in Mexico.

If you ask me if I've been somewhere, and if my answer isn't "yes", it'll usually be "not yet", as I ever feel most alive when I'm standing with my backpack on my shoulders, heading out into the world, with no clue as to what will happen next.

I thrive on learning, teaching, sharing, curiosity, passion, openness, honesty and kindness. I believe that people should follow their hearts, and be free to do what they want, as long as it does not affect others in a negative way.

I prefer the company of open and honest people with (sometimes crazy) ideas and passions, who are not afraid to live them out and I usually try to avoid people who do not take responsibility for their actions or their lives, and exhibit falseness, rudeness, prejudice and selfishness.

As I've learned when travelling, I always treasure most the people that I have met, and not the places I have seen. So when visiting a new place, I therefore prefer to spend my time with the the interesting people that live there, and see the world around them through their eyes, instead of seeing touristic sights and monuments.

Something that is important to me, is that I do not consider CS as just a cheap way to travel, but a chance to meet great and interesting people all over the world, and share my experiences with them. I would therefore never ask to stay with someone just to avoid paying for a hostel or hotel, and I expect the same from those who would be my guests.

My personal philosophy is do what ever makes you happy, as long as it doesn't negatively interfere with the lives of others.

---------------------------------
UPDATE - October 2015
---------------------------------
For the last year or so I haven't been able to keep up with all the requests I've been getting so my response rate is running pretty low, but I'm doing better now at catching up. I would however ask that you write me with good notice if you want to stay with me, at least a week or two in advance, and also that you write a bit about yourself and why you want to stay at my place / meet me.

The reason for this is that I get a lot of requests (>10 pr. week), many with very short notice, and some of these seem like they are copy-pasted and sent to a lot of people at once in hopes of quickly finding a place to stay. I rarely accept these requests, as they go against what I believe CS to be all about, which is staying with people that you actually want to meet and share your time with.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To host weary travellers and meet interesting people from all over the world.

I have had nothing but a lot of great experiences through CS with a lot of great people, many of whom I consider my friends today. I've also been a member of another couchsurfing website called HospitalityClub since pre. CS (2005).

I believe in sharing what we have, that there is no sense in keeping things to yourself and enjoying them every once in a while, when others could be using them in the meantime. That things are worth more when shared, and that true happiness is found in the smiles of others around you and not just your own.

Interests

Juggling: Diabolo, Poi, Clubs, Diving: Both SCUBA & Free, Acrobatics, Music: Trombone, Percussion, Dancing: Ballet, Salsa, Rumba, African Dances, Reggaeton, Batchata, Tango, Some geeky stuff: Linux, Networking, Programming etc, Sports: Hanggliding, Wing Tsun, Escrima, Mountainbiking, Climbing, Travelling: Hitch & Hiking, Plus: Books, Comics, Anime, Travelling, Massage, Therapeutics, Love, Learning, Life, and ever so much more : )

  • writing
  • books
  • beauty
  • dancing
  • tango
  • bachata
  • ballet dancing
  • cooking
  • running
  • clubbing
  • comics
  • anime
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • scuba diving
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • history
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Latin Salsa Music, Electric Tango, Icelandic Rock, Classic Rock, Ambient, Jazz, Modern, Classical, I listen to almost everything and anything, depending on my mood.

For books I love those that combine humor with knowledge, but I really like adventures, sagas and mythology, plus I have a special thing for graphic novels, which is the only thing that I can say I collect (I have too many to say otherwise).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've met so many special human beings during my life that I am forever grateful for their presence and guidance, I've seen the beauty of both nature and the heart of man, and been a friend in need.

Teach, Learn, Share

Salsa, Tango, Bachata, Juggling, Diabolo, Acrobatics, Cooking, Languages, History, Medical Stuff, IT stuff (I'm good with computers), Biking around Copenhagen, how to make a good espresso, writing runes, and many more.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My house, my couch, my kitchen, my bike, my time and knowledge.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Faroe Islands, France, Gambia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea-Bissau, Honduras, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Mexico, Morocco, Norway, Poland, Romania, Senegal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, Guinea-Bissau, Iceland, Mexico

Old School Badges

  • 9 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Magnus’s full profile.

My Groups