Chirag Gheewala's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chirag’s full profile.


  • 13 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Gujarati, Portuguese, Thai
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Scientist
  • Ph.D. in Chemistry, Columbia University
  • From New York, NY, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To meet interesting people from all over the world!


Hey all, my name is Chirag, and I am a 28-year-old scientist (fresh out of grad school!) and born and raised New Yorker. I love to spend time outside in nature, salsa dance, watch movies, and read books. I also love to go to jazz clubs and go to live music venues, so if this is your scene, I can show you around and hopefully you will have an amazing time! I recently moved to the Chicago area, have a puppy at my new apartment (hopefully you're okay with dogs!) and love

I've traveled a lot over the past few years. I lived in Madrid and absolutely loved it. It was so nice to be able to travel all over Europe. I believe Spain to be my second home. I've also spent time working and living in Argentina, Thailand, Mexico, and Miami (undergrad studies).


"This is my simple religion.
There is no need for temples;
no need for complicated philosophy.
Our own brain, our own heart is our temple;
the philosophy is kindness."
-Tenzin Gyatso, 14th Dalai Lama

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I am available for guests to CS at my place!


I started couchsurfing while I was traveling in Phuket, Thailand. I had such an amazing experience, and I feel like I have to give back to the CS community because of it.

In Spain, I hosted a lot of great individuals and hope to continue meeting amazing people.



  • dancing
  • clubbing
  • movies
  • traveling
  • bungee jumping
  • rock climbing
  • religion
  • mountains

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

New Year's Eve in Puerta del Sol in Madrid. Grapes + Champagne = Yum!

Bungee jumping in the mountains of Cola de Caballo in Mexico.

Sugarloaf mountain in Rio de Janeiro, Brasil.

White-water rafting in Thailand.

Hiking up teapot mountain near Taipei, Taiwan.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bermuda, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, France, Germany, India, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Mexico, Spain, Thailand, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Chirag’s full profile.

My Groups