Chantel Elston's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chantel’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Post-graduate student
  • M.Sc (currently studying towards PhD)
  • From Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Currently a post-graduate student in the marine biology world. Probably the biggest facet of my personality is that I am crazy about the ocean and its inhabitants.

I'm a nature baby and love being outside. Along with this comes the desire to explore the world around me. I've done a lot of travelling in my own country, but it's now the right time to spread my wings and travel further afield, something I've always dreamed of doing. I am a naturally curious person (another reason why I chose a career in the sciences) and want to explore as much of the world as possible. I don't want to be a traveler who just ticks off places - I want to immerse myself in the places I visit. I'm easy-going and a relatively quiet person and I love good wine and good food.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm new to this site and as mentioned above I'm all into experiencing different places of the world, including the people, the culture, the food, etc. I do solo travelling for my studies and while I love travelling alone, I also like sharing the moments with somebody else (even if that somebody else is someone I have just met). I love sharing dinner with someone and discussing the day and I feel like couchsurfing will be a great way to make solo travelling not so lonely.

I really enjoy meeting new people from different places. The place you live in has a huge impact on the way your view the world and I love to listen to different viewpoints and see though the world through a new set of lenses. I love the 'pay it forward' attitude of couchsurfing and would be very interested to share South Africa with other people. I am currently not in a situation where I can host but I would love to meet up with other travelers and show them around beautiful Cape Town.

Interests

Scuba diving and snorkeling, hiking, camping, anything outdoorsy.
I'm a bit of an introvert and extrovert so I love doing things by myself such reading, and I also love hanging out with people either in a relaxed social environment or going out for a night on the town. I really enjoy dancing, so I'm always up for that!
I am also an amateur artist and dabble in drawing and painting.

  • culture
  • dancing
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • wine
  • reading
  • traveling
  • painting
  • drawing
  • hiking
  • camping
  • scuba diving
  • snorkeling
  • biology
  • solo travel

Music, Movies, and Books

For books I am a huge fantasy fan particularly Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, and the more recent craze of Game of Thrones, but I also read a lot of 'off the beaten track' fantasy stuff.

For movies I'm not all too fussy, as long as it's not a horror or a rip-off comedy!

I also like most kinds of music, ranging from classic to pop to rock to drum n' bass, really just depends on my mood. But mostly acoustic/folk rock is my preferred scene. I'm also a huge undercover Taylor Swift fan!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Probably the most amazing thing I've done is spend 6 months on a remote tropical island in the Seychelles investigating the lives of stingrays for my post-graduate studies. See the link if you're interested for more details - http://www.saveourseas.com/project/a-stingrays-story/

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm in the beginning stages of learning french and am definitely keen to learn more! Also if you have any cultural dishes, I'm always keen to learn new recipes/ways of cooking.
I can teach you how to cook uniquely South African food or a good Seychellois coconut curry. I can also teach you some Afrikaans if you'd like to dip your toes into another South African language. Given my studies I have a wealth of information when it comes to the ocean :) I could even give you one or two tips on how to draw/paint and show you some Irish dancing moves!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Netherlands, Seychelles, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Chantel’s full profile. It’s free!