Charlotte Workman's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Charlotte’s full profile.

Overview

  • 14 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese, Spanish
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Adventure Photographer & Guide
  • BA Journalism (Hons)
  • From Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello! Thank you for checking out my page.

Currently adventuring with my partner Steve - https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/steve-small

Together we run a photography company: www.theAdventurePhotographers.com

I'm always up for an adventure and breaking the routine. I love making new friends, exploring different perspectives, trading stories and good times.

PHILOSOPHY
Science and philosophy are combined for me. We are the universe knowing itself! So I keep my mind open and try to replace judgement with curiosity.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've met up with locals and couch surfers and stayed on some couches too. These experiences are the ones I will never forget and I'm excited to be able to host as well as surf much more. I love to travel and really get to know a place and it's people like the locals do.

Interests

I was lucky enough to grow up surrounded by nature, so anything that immerses myself into our wonderful natural world I tend to be in to!

Besides watching wildlife, exploring natural places and learning about permaculture I do also like being active and love a bit of adrenaline. You can find me canyoning, surfing, splitboarding, mountain biking, climbing trees & rocks, scrambling, wild swimming, cliff jumping...

I nurture an open mind with science, documentaries, podcasts, books, mindfulness and yoga.

Listening to and making music.

Photography and film making is a big one - its my job!

I do love a good story round a fire. Cultural exchange is wonderful. We love to support local businesses, learning about and supporting community and grassroots movements.

  • books
  • photography
  • diy
  • beer
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • science
  • permaculture

Music, Movies, and Books

I love travel, adventure and nature books. Books that give a real insight into a time or a place. Practical books are great to and I love to learn.

I studied journalism and I really like 'Literary Journalism' like Hunter S Thomson and Tom Wolfe etc.

I love all music that is performed well, that really captures a mood and get lost in... Of course Hendrix, Cream, Pink Floyd etc but more recently bluegrass and new folk - The Stray Birds, Mandolin Orange (now Watchhouse). I appreciate good beats to dance to and I'm a big fan of artists that bring traditional roots music into a contemporary light. Niteworks from the Isle of Skye for example, bringing Gaelic singing and house music together.

I love old movies and ones directed by Wes Anderson and Stanley Kubrick. We watch a lot of science documentaries and I love reading and listening to books.

My partner Steve and I also enjoy watching TV shows like It's Always Sunny, Frasier & Brooklyn 99 for laughs.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

.....started travelling!!

Since I started travelling, my mind and eyes have opened to the constant adventure of life. You learn to see the magic in the everyday.

Sharing this stoke with friends and family is also incredibly valuable to me. Most of all I cherish teaching my mum to surf, snowboard and ride her bike without holding on to the handlebars. We talk about philosophy and practice yoga together, constantly learning and growing from each other.

A recent big achievement for me was being part of a 3 person splitboard expedition to a very remote mountain range in eastern Greenland. We travelled over 200kms unsupported for 6 weeks and made two first ascents and snowboard descents. It was the hardest thing I've ever done in my life but one that I will hold dear to my heart forever.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can tell tales of travels, growing up in rural Scotland, life as an adventure photographer and living in an off-grid cabin. I can bake you some shortbread (a scottish treat) if I have the ingredients, and if I have my camera - take a photograph for you!

Hopefully we can learn from each other, share our perspectives and a memory.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Chile, China, Costa Rica, England, Fiji, France, Greenland, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Laos, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Andorra, Japan, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Charlotte’s full profile.

My Groups