Chen Landa's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 24 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chen’s full profile.

Overview

  • 18 references 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hebrew (modern), Russian; learning French
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Mostly shitty student jobs
  • General and Comparative Literature, Communication Studies...
  • From Modi'in Makabim-Re'ut, Center District
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey!
My name is Chen (pronounced Khen) :)
My main passions in life are music, traveling, and literature. I'm trying to live following my admiration for written words and my will to explore too many places around this planet.
I study and work in Jerusalem. Currently, I'm living with my mother, her crazy cat and my super cute puppy, in a small apartment not far from Jerusalem city center.
I admit that I tend to be a bit busy lately, so I might not always be able to host you, but please do message me! Also, I tend to keep the 'accepting guests' statues, even if I don't have much time for CS stuff, so I apologize in advance if you get no response or a late one.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I believe that traveling is a way of life. I started using CS while I was traveling around Spain, France and Portugal for a few months (further on going to Caucasus countries).While being on the road, I've met some truly incredible people, many of them because of CS. A lot of them helped me a lot, and some of them inspired me, and changed things about my attitude towards traveling and life in general. For me CS is an amazing community where travels can help and inspire each other, whether if hosting, surfing or just hanging out.
A lot of people helped me on my ways.
I'll be more than pleased and delighted to help any traveler who is passing through Israel, in any way I can. As I said, traveling is a way of life, and I think that being a part of CS community could help me go on traveling, while I'm home.

Interests

I adore music and literature a lot. Generally, I adore creation of any kind.
Like most of the people here, traveling is my main passion in life.
I'm also passionate about nature and wildlife: I enjoy trekking, hiking, camping, wildlife watching and recently I'm into scuba diving too.
Striving to be a writer, most of the time.
Last but not least: I'm a dog lover :).

  • books
  • traveling
  • music
  • rock music
  • nature
  • jazz music
  • oldschool

Music, Movies, and Books

It's always hard to list your favorite books and music..
Oldschool music fan. Blues, rock, folk, jazz. Bob Dylan, Leonard Cohen, Pink Floyd, Lou Reed, David Bowie, Neil Young, Patti Smith. My favorite musicians are my personal idols, in many ways.

As it comes to books, I can't really say I've got a particular taste, but I definitely believe in reading. Perhaps it's more right to say that I haven't developed a particular literary taste, yet. I'm completely fascinated by a lot of literary, and sometimes more philosophy like, works. I don't really stick to a genre, or a time period, but I've read some truly good books and I will always be happy to discuss about literature. Since I'm always getting intrigued by different authors and poets, it wouldn't say much if I'll write down a few names. Let's have a beer and talk about it, if you wish :)

Movies: Arizona Dream, Time of the Gypsies, Underground (Generally I'm interested in Kusturica's works lately), Breakfast at Tiffany's, Dead Poet Society, Good Will Hunting, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, Into the Wild, Woody Allen's films (Hannah and her Sisters is probably my favorite).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

*Going to Desert Trip festival
*Going looking out for the Rolling Stones members in the streets of Jerusalem, while I was a pretty idiotic teenager, and they were visiting the country.
*Traveling around Yellowstone national park in the middle of December
*Read and heard some really good books and music.
*Backpacking around Spain, Portugal and France for a few months (my first long backpacking trip).
*Traveling on my own around crazy and beautiful Caucasus area - Georgia (mostly Georgia, heavenly beautiful country), Armenia and Russia.
*Every second of my trip to Central Asia.

Teach, Learn, Share

Well, I suppose I don't know a lot, but like us all, I can share some stories and experiences. Like most of us, I enjoy sincere open-minded conversations. I'd be absolutely happy to hear some stories from your life and about the reasons you're traveling.

I'd happy to talk about the things you guys care about, and feel passionate about, especially if we share some interests.

We can cook, listen to music, walk around, go somewhere nice, or just chill :)

I'm always happy to share some tips about the surrounding area and I'm truly pleased when people are interested and eager to explore. I'm not really into politics, but I can explain some simple things about my opinion on what's going on here, if needed :)

I've been spending a lot of time training my puppy, so if you guys need any dog training tips, I'm all yours.

What I Can Share with Hosts

To be honest, nothing in particular. I'll do my best to be good company and show gratitude :) I promise to be flexible and respectful about your way of hosting and living. I always do my best to behave according to the host and to the environment around me (since I expect to be treated the same when I'm hosting).
Of course that I can help with whatever needed and I'm more than ok cook :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Austria, Canada, Croatia, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Scotland, Spain, Swaziland, Tajikistan, United States, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Israel, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Chen’s full profile.