Chris Mercieca's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 18 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile.

Overview

  • 117 references 91 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Maltese; learning Arabic, French, German, Italian, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Student
  • Politics/IR
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a Maltese currently living in Switzerland. Love to travel, meet new people and take life as it comes along the way. Just about describes any Couchsurfer though, doesn't it? I guess you'll have to send me that couch request or reply to mine and get to know more!

Or of course, add me on facebook! http://www.facebook.com/chris.mercieca

PHILOSOPHY

there's more that unites us than drives us apart. if you need further proof of that, just meet a few more couchsurfers

live a rewarding life by finding a way to use what you love to help others

whether stuck in one place or somewhere new every morning, there's always something to be grateful for. just stop for a second, take it all in and make the most of each moment

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Host when possible, surf when possible, and meet people for a drink or some sightseeing in the meantime!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

First surfing experience was in Paris in April 2011, and it already feels like that was in a whole other lifetime! I've surfed at the 2011 Lille Big Spring Events, and later in

The Netherlands (Maastricht, Groningen)
Sweden (Lund)
Italy (all over the place)
France (Lille, Paris, Strasbourg)
Latvia (Riga, Jelgava, Rezekne, Sigulda)
Lithuania (Siauliai, Kaunas, Sirvintos, Vilnius)
Finland (Turku)
Sweden (Stockholm, Kristianstad)
Denmark (Copenhagen, Rodby, Odense)
Germany (Karlsruhe, Loeffelscheid, Uedem)
Hungary (Budapest)
Bulgaria (Sofia)
Kosovo (Pristina)
US
Costa Rica (Arenal)
Nicaragua (Masaya)

I've also had the pleasure of hosting some great people while back home in Malta and showing them round our islands, so far having hosted CSers from France, the US, Lithuania, Poland and the Philippines.

Interests

Anything to do with the outdoors and nature (cycling, hiking, climbing, kayaking), Scouting, languages, photography, travel (state the obvious eh?), discovering different cultures, music (piano and guitar basics)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Difficult to choose one, but to name a few:

missing a flight (not so amazing) and managing to hitchhike the same distance in just a few more hours (amazing)

being voluntarily woken up at 3am, blindfolded, shoved into a car and dropped off in the middle of nowhere with nothing but a compass and map

kayaking with alligators

100 day cycling trip from The Netherlands to Malta

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Honduras, Hungary, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Poland, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Malta, Netherlands, Switzerland, United States

Old School Badges

  • 7 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile.

My Groups