Claudia Zimmermann's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 13 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Claudia’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 143 References 130 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Russian; learning French, Norwegian Bokmål, Turkish
  • 48, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Teacher at a Staatliche Europaschule (primary school)
  • university, post grad course
  • From Little village near Stollberg in Erzgebirge, East Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Jeg vil gjerne snakker norsk.

I will still accept mainly people with a lot of HOSTING experience and SUPER NICE requests from people who read profiles and from real CSers - that means - people who have done something for the CS community BEFORE using CS hospitality (shown around people, organized meetings, invited someone home for a meal or a coffee, HOSTED).
NOTE: This is not Airbnb. People first, then sights. ;-)

NOTE: DON'T WASTE MY OR YOUR TIME WITH COPY AND PASTE REQUESTS. If you do, you will get a copy and paste decline.
If you get a no without even a copy and paste message you might to find out how to write a decent request.


Well, my best friends would say that I am open-minded, helpful, full of energy (so much so that it gets on their nerves) and enthusiastic. I am very German in many ways - I mean what I say and say what I mean. I am straightforward and I prefer a little bit of drama to boredom and dullness. I am spontaneous and passionate about what I love and what I hate.


Carpe diem!

If you are not working towards the solution then you are part of the problem.

Remember yesterday. Live now. Think about tomorrow.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have been on CS for five years now. I often host people and I sometimes surf myself. I show CSers places in Berlin and Brandenburg that I love and we share meals and stories and skills. In my first year on CS I have been to Normandy, France in my second I have been to Turky/Kyrgistan/Tadshikistan, to Egypt, in Provence and in Russia. In my third and fourth it was the USA (west, south and east) and Iceland. All these trips and meeting my hosts and their families were simply great. In my fifth year I went to Slovenia.


So far I have had around 120 surfers stay with me here. They came from Germany, Belarus, Brazil, Russia, Denmark, France, Turky, England, New Zealand, Australia, Poland, Spain, Canada, Egypt, Morocco, Syria, Mexico, Kirgistan, Tadjikistan, the USA, Chile, Croatia, South Africa, the Netherlands, China, Iran, Taiwan, Norway, Argentina, Peru and Italy. We have made bike tours along Eastsidegalery, been to Potsdam and seen sights (Museumsinsel, Berliner Dom, Potsdamer Platz, Botanischer Garten, Gendarmenmarkt, Topographie des Terrors) around the city together. We visited the Reichstag, climbed up Victory Column, had barbecues and campfires with friends and family of and trips to museums and churches. We have cooked and shared meals together. Also I have made appointments to meet with surfers to show them around. I have organized activities like sightjogging or visits to galeries. I really like the concept and I am looking forward to all the things ahead!


I have many hobbies (reading, singing in a choir and sports - all kinds of it, but my fav is long distance running). I like cooking and learning new recipies. I am a member of an intercultural reading group. I enjoy making things with my hands, like knitting.

Music, Movies, and Books

I try to read in the original whenever I can and as I read mainly books from English or Russian speaking authors that works well. I am in an international book club in Berlin and when I am travelling I always try to meet local reading groups.
I have a big library of cherished books at home and I deeply believe in Little Free Library and Book Crossing and I support them when I have something nice to give away.
If you want to know what books we have in common you can go to Goodreads. The books I read recently are on there.
Films - I don't get to go to the movies (lack of time and money) but I get the most important films from the libraries and I am very open to new suggestions for your national cinema.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiking in the mountains - the Alps, Spitzbergen, Kirgistan, Norway, Sweden. It always shows me my limits. Running the marathon in Barcelona was great. Travelling through the Middle East. Losing 65 kilos was my greatest achievement I think. And giving birth and raising two daughters was something to remember too.

Teach, Learn, Share

Give and get gardening tips. Give and get recepies. Show how to do easy stuff with knitting needles. Go jogging together.
Something shameful to admit - I never learned to dance. If somebody could help to remove that gap in my accomplishment...that would be so great!!!
Learn, learn, learn languages!
This event is something you cannot afford to miss:
Under certain circumstances I can share a bike. Just ask.
Teach German.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Some time. My insight in Berlin and beyond.
My love for cooking, gardening, singing, sports.
A tea, a coffee, a meal.
A walk, a run, a hike.
When I am washing my stuff you can of course 'join'. Just ask.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russian Federation, Scotland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belarus, Germany, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Claudia’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups