Iris Vukovic's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 55% response rate
  • Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Iris’s full profile.

Overview

  • 120 references 92 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian, Serbian, Spanish; learning French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Norwegian, Portuguese
  • 47, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • Geologist
  • University degree today equivalent to Msc
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To enjoy life as much as possible

ABOUT ME

I live and travel together with my boyfriend so you'll be staying with or hosting both of us. We love to travel and meet new people, hang out outsied as much as possible, listen to live music...

A really important thing: I usually speak quite loudly, especially if I'm excited or when I drink. So, if you think you could have problem with this, don't host me or surf with me.

PHILOSOPHY

Don't ever regret things you've done, regret only the things you haven't done!
It's not the most important to reach the end of a journey, the journey itself is the thing that counts most!
Prejudices exist just to be confronted and broken.
Always do good and good will return to you, though most often NOT by the person(s) you have been good to...
The more languages one speaks, the more people one's worth for.
Kto ne kurit i ne pjot tot zdorovenjkim pomrjot. (when I wrote it in original Russian alphabet it was illegible on profile hence the transcript and also translation: the one who doesn't smoke or drink will be healthy when he dies)
Knjige, knjige, braco moja, a ne zvona i praporci (Dositej Obradovic)
La buena vida es cara. Hay otra mas barata, pero no es vida.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Couchsurfing is not a tool to use, it's a way of life.

Trying to be a considerate host and even more considerate surfer.

I try to enter this with open heart and mind and I pre-trust my potential surfers. I believe that the people read my profile for their own good and I don't want to check if this is true or not. Once I start feeling that my security is threatened this way, I will quit couchsurfing in order not to become one of the paranoid "experienced surfers" with 1000 secret codes in order to be considered for hosting by their majesties.
I'm not impressed by anyone's CS experience or the number of references and vouches. I always remember when I was new on CS without any friends and references and I try to give a chance to new people. In fact I had the best time with newbies or the people without a lot of experience.
Even though I consider CS one of the best things that ever happened to me, there are more important things in my life. I assume that it is the case with most CS members so I will not be annoyed if someone cannot spend time with me because something connected to his family, friends, work... has come up. I expect the same understanding from others.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Hosted:
Tatjana, Ivana and Martina from Croatia
Tracy and Matthew from Canada
Đurđica from Croatia
Florent, Jerome and Francois from France
Sonia and Vera from Portugal
Kristina and Morana from Croatia
Fred and Arianne from France
Julia and Renee from the USA
German from Russia
Judith and Marion from France
Marta and Ala from Poland
Guus and Marlene from the Netherlands
Vanja and Jasna from Croatia
Hannah (HK), Andreas (D) and Claudia (A)
Tomek and Weronika from Poland
Manolis from Greece
Irini and Dimitris from Greece
Ana and Jasmin from Croatia
Anera from Croatia
Viviana from Mexico
Alberto, Nacho, Auroris & Greta from Spain
Matteo (I) and Ozgul (TR)
Krysztof and Asia from Poland
Arne from Norway
Kuba and Tomek from Poland
Kynsley from India
Robyn (USA) and James (UK)
Anne and Norbert from Germany
Jana & Jana from Slovak Republic
Julia, Tilman and Manu from Germany
Tomaš (Czech R.) and Ondrej (Slovak R.)
Oğulcan and Sercan from Turkey
Aytek from Turkey
Charlotte & Cathy (D) & Lukas (A)
Ismail and Murat from Turkey
Attila from Serbia
Marek and Justyna from Poland
Teresa, Kaska and Michal from Poland
Thomas and Andreas from Germany
Laura and Feli from Germany
Kasia and Bogusz from Poland
Iva and Ivana from Croatia
Jorge from Mexico
Gustavo from Spain
Anthony from the UK
Guillaume from France
Maja from Serbia
Lisa & Ben from France
Sonia from the USA
Vedran from Croatia
Daniele, Daniele & Guido from taly
Federica from Italy
Chad from the USA
Adriana, Mara and Flavia from Romania
Gina and Ben from the USA
Neslihan and Selin from Turkey
Maria from Greece
Vladislav & Anastasia from Macedonia
Tomek, Sylwia & Kinga from Poland
Andrzej and Anna from Poland
Wojtek (PL) and Ivan (BY)
Mihajlo and Damjan from Macedonia
Kevin from France
Dina, Emina & Naris from BiH
Julia and Wolf from Germany
Goran (A) and Vera (D)
Luca from Italy
Gonzalo and Maria from Argentina
Marija (MNE) and Gabriela (BR)
Jasmina from BiH
Magda and Marcin from Poland
Marta, Julia & Natalia from Poland
Maria & Hodei from Spain
Sonia from Italy
Milan from Serbia

Surfed with:
Sean and Leah in South Korea
Chris in South Korea
Mandy in South Korea
Alejandro in South Korea
Faith in South Korea
Hrvoje in Croatia
Marianna in Hungary
Ana in Croatia
Andrija in Croatia
Jelena in Croatia
Jack in Czech Republic
Mira in Czech Republic
Carlo in the Netherlands
Dailos in Spain
Alex in Greece
Kamilla in Hungary
Susana in Sweden
Giuseppe in Sweden
Kristian in Finland
Martin in Sweden
Ola in Poland
Wojtek in Poland
Krzystof in Poland
Tomek and Angelika in Poland
Asia in Poland
Patryk in Poland
Manu in Germany
Sarah in Germany

Interests

My interests are quite wide, to name a few: languages, travels, reading, walking (as I said above I'm not a really sportive person but I like to walk a lot when I have free time, mostly on holidays, I also like water so if there is a possibility of swimming or something like that I'm always game), cooking (even though in nice weather I prefer to spend most of the time outside rather then spend a long time inside cooking), going to cinema or theatre (actually now I do most of it when traveling, of course when a film or a play is in language that I can understand)
I'm always interested in new challenges - new places, new people... That helps me discover a little bit more of my personality, too... When traveling I can be up to many things I don't usually (or ever) do, it doesn't have to be typical for the place I'm visiting, or even typical for my host - if you have sometinhg that you like to share with me, in most cases I'll accept it :) A person can never grow truly old with so many new things around :)

  • cooking
  • walking
  • drinking
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • swimming
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

As long as any music is on my day is nice, however I guess people would call me old fashioned in the terms of music as I don't really understand techno. I like to hear music from different countries, regions, once I had on my computer the songs in 17 or 18 languages.
If I have to pick a few favourites I usually write: The Pogues, Rammstein, Manu Chao. However there's much more than that :)
Movie: Star Wars, movies by Peter Weir, Ang Lee, Lasse Halstrom, Tarantino, Spielberg...
I like books and reading in general. I read almost anything that I could lay my hands on, nevertheless I prefer fiction. Many people claim they would be happy to have an infinite credit for buying cosmetics, clothes or food - I could say the same for books.
Every 5 years I read Dostoevsky's 'Crime and Punishment' in a different language.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Well I guess it depends on the definition of 'amazing'... Life itself is an amazing thing, after all...

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Macedonia, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Serbia

Old School Badges

  • 9 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Iris’s full profile.

My Groups