Mertens Joeri's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mertens’s full profile.


  • 21 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French, German; learning Czech
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Commuting between everyday reality, beautiful dreams, and...
  • Never enough ;-)
  • From Brussels, Brussels-Capital, Belgium
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

Euh... next question please! ;-)

One hint: when I signed up, I mixed up first name and last name... my first name is Joeri (pronounced like "Yuri").

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like to meet new people, new mindsets, new ideas.

The idea behind Couchsurfing has been very appealing to me - When I'm traveling by hitchhiking I used to get saved for the night quite often by my drivers, or sometimes even by strangers on the street. I was often quite amazed how hospitable people can be, even if you spoke to them for just a few moments.

Now that I'm getting slowly older, I want to return that favor to the world.


Craft beers

  • music
  • languages
  • hitchhiking
  • craft beer
  • trains
  • meeting new people

Music, Movies, and Books

Everything which is good ;-)

Music: I spend lots of free time on concerts and music festivals, so if we meet there's a big chance there will be some musical surroundings. Some favourites: Explosions in the Sky, PJ harvey, Tame Impala, Crystal Fighters, Slowdive, Efterklang, Glass Animals, Boards of Canada, Crystal Fighters ...

Movies: there are quite a lot of interesting film festivals in Prague. The best known is Febiofest. Check it out baby!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitchhiking all across South-America ... Best adventure ever!

Moving to Prague - I came with the idea to stay 2 years maximum and 11+ years later I'm still around and amazed by this city every day :-)

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm always curious about languages, food, music, literature... from different countries... and I'm also curious to get to know YOU!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Beer, food, happiness!

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Belgium, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Iran, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Serbia, Slovakia, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Finland

Join Couchsurfing to see Mertens’s full profile.

My Groups