cornelis - co van der hoek's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see cornelis - co’s full profile.

Overview

  • 17 references 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, German; learning Italian, Turkish
  • 68, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • business consultant for non-profit health care organizati...
  • western sociology - of organizations, economics, cook, he...
  • From Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
i’m a enthusiast traveler. i have not seen all, but it’s on my list ...

ABOUT ME
not that old, but experienced and surely mature
strong, social, blunt, curious and adventurous ...
i try to be open minded as much as possible. go with the current ;-)
and like to live with a lot of fun and humor.
i love to cook and share meals and have discussions with friends and guests.

- to live almost to the max
- everything is possible ...

PHILOSOPHY
love determinates everything and everyone

like what you do - do what you like

no one has the right to obey

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I think cs is a great non-commercial initiative ; a pearl in this so, money driven, commercial world. although there is much doubt these days if cs will stay this way ...

also i think that it is extremely important to experience that there is so much to care about in this world. that we should know each other to fulfill our lives. cs is worth to support and stay tuned in with.

i did host many travelers - with a lot of fun - for some days and earlier, before couchsurfing was around, also several tourists and that for quite some years. couchsurfing 'avant la lettre' ;-)

and of course i have met couchsurfers in several countries i did visit and i guess there will be many more to come, since i love to travel ;-)

Interests

science, sociology, cultures, economics, psychology and philosophy
travel, scuba diving, ski, fitness
architecture, design, modern art
food, cooking mostly italian, asian, fusion and much 'in to' slow food and raw cooking

my greatest interest is debate, discussions ... and cook and share a good meal!

  • arts
  • architecture
  • design
  • modern art
  • dining
  • cooking
  • fitness
  • traveling
  • scuba diving
  • skiing
  • economics
  • psychology
  • science
  • sociology
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

rock, singer songwriters, world music
and modern classical music.

almodóvar, coen brothers, tarantino, kieslowski, kurosawa
oh ... so many more directors and movies

writers? too many, i don't forget easy:
george saunders: "the brain dead megaphone"
karl ove knausgård: autobiographical novels "my struggle"
ilja leonard pfeiffer: “hotel europa”

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

last for me is working with refugees in lesbos, and mainland greece. coordination of supplies in shelter for syrian families ...
and way back, that I had the opportunity to swim with whale sharks in the philippines ... although now I strongly reject the fact that the people living around the spot of the sharks do feed them!

Teach, Learn, Share

eh ... is what you see or hear really the truth, the only truth?
can you only look at it this way?
what would you be or do without this thought?
our thoughts are constructs, and not seldom bit by bit become as a giant obstruct ;-) take the obstruct, piece by piece away and anything is possible.

What I Can Share with Hosts

first of all a lot of fun! but also a lot of information - historical and practical - about the netherlands and about our interests.
and we will at least have a good conversation maybe even discussion over a good meal. there are topics enough in this beautiful but extremely crazy and cruel world.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Grenada, Guernsey, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Laos, Libya, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Monaco, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Palau, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Suriname, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Wales, Western Sahara

Countries I’ve Lived In

Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Turkey, United States

Old School Badges

  • 7 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see cornelis - co’s full profile.

My Groups