Logo orange

Curtis Hartling

Portland, OR, USA

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Curtis's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 13 Positive References
  • Fluent in English
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Audiologist
  • High school; Undergraduate; Graduate
  • From Port Jefferson
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To met friendly, adventurous people while traveling / learn about the places I travel to from the people who live there.

ABOUT ME

I live in Portland, Oregon and work as a Audiologist at Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU). I grew up on the east coast, lived in several cities on the west coast, and attended graduate school in the midwest. I am glad to have lived in and experienced several different areas of U.S.A.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe that human beings are meant to move. I have commuted by bicycle exclusively for the past 6 years. Much like the a United States Postal Service employee, I have braved rain, sleet, and snow on my bike and at time it has truly sucked. However, I believe I am a better person because of these experiences. After all, I might be soaking wet and cold, but at least I'm never stuck in traffic :-)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Although I've been a CS member since '08 and so far all of my experiences have been wonderful! Arriving in a new city and hanging out with someone who knows the place has been my favorite aspect of CS. I love exploring and meeting new people. CS has made this easy. Looking forward to more great experiences!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far I've met up with people in Milwaukee, Asheville, Key West, Beijing, Phoenix, St. Petersburg, and Portland. Everyone I've met has been awesome. They've shared recommendations regarding what to check out in their respective cities and have shown this traveler a wonderful time.

Interests

Music, cycling, swimming, running, hiking, eating, good beer...

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: I enjoy documentary films the most.

Music: Anything really (including some country), hee hee! Stevie Wonder, Blitzen Trapper, Trampled by Turtles, tUnE-YarDs, Pantera, Band of Horses, The Magnetic Fields, Laura Marling, Bad Religion... can't think of anymore at the moment.

Books: Currently I don't have much time for leisurely reading. However, two of my recent favorites include Destert Solitaire by Edward Abbey and The Mountains of California by John Muir.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Waterfall jumping in the Grand Canyon at Havasupai Reservation.

Canyoning in Interlaken, Switzerland.

What I Can Share With Hosts

I make a pretty mean egg sandwich.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, China, Germany, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Netherlands, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Curtis's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile