Daniel Houben's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 103 references 89 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2019
  • Student
  • Engineering
  • From Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I like meeting people from all around the world. I'm very spontaneous and adventurous - always in for a trip somewhere or into nowhere :D I'm a calm and curious person who always likes to get to know new people and have conversations :)

On my first big trip I traveled down the whole mediterranean coast of Spain for some months - very slowly :D After that through Morocco and Portugal. Before I will switch continents to Latin America or South east asia my next idea for traveling is to go to East Europe and going down the mediterranean. Prague - Vienna - Bratislava - Budapest - Croatia - Montenegro - Albania - Balkan countries and traveling through Turkey for a while! Would be cool to go together with other travelers :)

I would like to try hitchhiking for the first time and try all the different ways of traveling. I did wildcamping some times, would be cool to do different trips with a group of travelers, camping together, renting a van or try Bikepacking! A dream would be to join a sailing crew to go boat hitchhiking :D I travel without plane and I want to experience the journey, distances and everything in between. I like slow traveling.

Besides calm things like some talking together, walking through the area, having a drink together, I'm also always in for swimming, hiking, all kind of watersports and outdoor activities. I would, for example, like to discover the backcountries of cities and the coasts next to it. I love longboarding under the palm trees along the coast! if you like, I could also teach you :)

If there is a host, it would be nice for me to stay but I also like just to meet, get to know each other and exchange stories

If someone likes to join a part of traveling - let's go together, you're welcome!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like to become friends with people all over the world. I want to know what the everyday life is at different places and to connect more with the area and the people living there. It's very interesting for me to exchange experiences with locals or other travellers from all over the world.

Interests

  • traveling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • cliff jumping
  • sports
  • swimming
  • nature
  • longboarding
  • activism
  • meeting new people
  • cultural exchange
  • talking to strangers
  • happy life

Music, Movies, and Books

Avatar, Into the Wild, Documentaries about Traveling and Nature, Skins, In time, Tribute von Panem, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Der Schwarm by Frank Schätzing, Eragon, The Joker, Linkin Park, Pendulum, Rise Against

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Meeting someone in the evening via couchsurfing who spontaneously joined me the next day to go camping together at Costa Brava and to travel down the coast together for 10 days! You never know which good things can happen just the next day or in next moment :)

Sleeping alone at the beach at the Amalfi coast in Italy without anything to see the sunset there and to discover the area in the morning without tourists.

Surfing in Spain and Portugal, Cliffdiving in Croatia, seeing the big waves at the Atlantic Ocean for the first time, falling asleep in the bus and waking up at the sea, Freediving at Kap Kamenjak, Seeing a volcano, hiking through Europes longest Canyon, seeing a sea turtle, cuttlefish and a rey while freediving in the Mediterranean sea

Teach, Learn, Share

I can show you to skate through the cities on a longboard or in summer how to go waterskiing or wakeboarding on a lake! If you like to learn german, I could help you with that too :D

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories and ideas for slow traveling in a different way without plane

Teaching what I know - German, longboarding for example

I can help with everyday tasks so we would have more free time together! Like doing the dishes, getting groceries, vacuuming the rooms while you're at work

See your area with different eyes - we can find something new :)

Being a outdoor-activities or sports buddy

Deep talks about environmental topics, activism, climate change, renewable Energies, Solar, permaculture, nature - Utopías

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, France, Greece, Italy, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.

My Groups