Daniel Mendi's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 8 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 111 references 82 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Basque, English, Spanish; learning German
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Wine marketing
  • University Degree
  • From Basque Country, Spain
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm calm, open-minded, friendly, respectful and positive guy. Sometimes look like a little bit shy, but just at the beginning. I love outdoors, nature, animals, walking, talking, culture, history, geography, sports...

Go for whatever makes you happy!

People who inspired me to travel:
Homero, Marco Polo, James Cook, David Livingstone, Roal Admunsen, Vladímir Arséniev, Jack London, Edmund Hillary, Corto Maltés, Ryszard Kapuscinski, Chris McCandless, Javier Reverte, Iñaki Ochoa de Olza, Kepa Acero...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I join this community many years ago during my stay in Slovenia but then I wasn't active so that's why I dont have experience till 2014 when I decided to be more active. After hosting, been hosted, attended meetings abroad, joined local meetings and events... I had many great experiences and I hope to get much more in the future.

Interests

Sport and outdoors: surfing, snowboarding, hiking, cycling, soccer, basketball... I love nature, mountains, snow, sea, landscapes...

I enjoy city's culture and social life, take a coffee/tea/wine/beer, having lunch/dinner...

I have a university degree on journalism and I work on wine marketing so I love everything related with journalism and wine.

  • animals
  • arts
  • concerts
  • wine
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • running
  • meditation
  • crossfit
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • soccer
  • history
  • journalism
  • volunteering
  • nature
  • trekking
  • mindfulness
  • museums
  • healthy lifestyle
  • functional training
  • stoicism
  • plant based

Music, Movies, and Books

MOVIES: independent and classic movies mainly. Films by Billy Wilder, Hayao Miyazaki, Paul Thomas Anderson, Fahardi, Jacques Audiard, Steve McQueen, Sam Peckinpah, Nicholas Ray...

MUSIC: I am very fan of The Growlers band and I like listening now mostly surf, psych, garage music, but also love many different styles as indie, rock, jazz, soul... Some more bands like are Peach Pit, Summer Salt, Vundabar, Valley Rats, Dayglow, Mystic Braves, Allah-Las, The Paper Kites, Pokey Lafarge, Palace, Nikki Hill... And some oldies: The Doors, Nirvana, Beatles, Beach Boys, Creedance Clearwater, Pixies, Beastie Boys...

BOOKS: "Steppenwolf" by Herman Hesse, "Intimity" by Haneif Kureishi, "Survivor" by Chuck Palahniuk, "Into the wild" by Jon Krakauer, "Walden" by Henry David Thoreau...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Besides join Couchsurfing community... mountain hiking for 3 days around north of Philippines, meeting and sleeping with some local tribes. Doing a safari in Tanzania was amazing experience too.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you spanish and some basque as well. Teaching or giving you some tips about exercise, sport and healthy lifestyle. Due to my job I can share with you my knowledge about wine and teach you how to taste properly a wine. I would like to show you around my city, sightseeing, explain you about my place's history, culture, heritage...

I would like to share my biggest smile and a lots of fun. Talk about my traveling experiences and my likes. Going together for some outdoor activity.

I would like to learn cooking more healthy recipes. Want to learn more about yoga, pilates, meditation or massage. Also to learn german, french and russian languages mainly, but any language is welcome. I want to know about other countries culture and history. Always up to try any outdoor or sport I never practice before.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Staying at my place and/or showing you around my city, sightseeing, explain you about my place history, culture and folklore. I'm also up to do some outdoor activitie or hang out together.

As an active host I am, I expect requests that really show an interesting to meet me and have a cultural exchange. Sometimes I get many requests and It takes many time to answer all of them kindly so if you are not even able to say my name on your request, dont expect an effort from me neither. Sorry but this is something I learnt after many time hosting.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Tanzania, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, China, Slovenia, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.

My Groups