Daria Aleks's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daria’s full profile.

Overview

  • 4 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Сhild friendly urbanist, tutor
  • Architect • Educator • Urbanist • Project Manager
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello! ‌I was born in Ukraine, grew up in Russia, currently based on New Zealand

Adventurer by nature, I explored 100+ cities in 27 countries and want to work and travel worldwide

I researched culture of childhood, designed educational programs in art, architecture and urbanism, plus educated children, adolescents and adults all around Russia from Kaliningrad to Vladivostok, in Uzbekistan and Turkey

‌ Also I’m consulting and managing spatial development projects and promoting the Child Friendly Cities Initiative. Provided design leadership to urban regeneration and public realm transformation projects in cities.

Extra:
• 5 years I'm ok without meat (animals and birds), but continue to eat seafoods, fish, eggs and milk
• 3 years I don't drink alcohol, understood that don't really like the taste, and effect to my mental and physical healths
• Like to drink coffee once a week, but matcha or green tea are better for my neuro system
• Friendly to LGBTQ+, children, pets, ecology

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing for me is the door to open my mind and heart to new people, cultures. Traveling for me is prototype of my biggest dream to be international professional and help children and nature all over to world

I'm looking for hosts and friends all around New Zealand from May to Octоber 2023

When I'm staying in Moscow, I love to show my own route through architecture of Russian avant garde and constructivism and new public spaces as a local guide. Made 15+ tours for with folks from USA, UK, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Netherland including excursions for children

Interests

As an artist I'm trying to see the beauty everywhere

As a sporty person I'm in love in trampoline and jump for 9 years already

As an architect and urban designer, I’m interested in the child friendly city concept, effects of the natural disasters, new reconstructed architecture, infrastructure and public spaces

  • animals
  • arts
  • architecture
  • photography
  • sketching
  • childrens rights
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • sailing
  • tourism
  • nature
  • sustainability
  • mindfulness
  • children
  • urban planning
  • urban exploring
  • trampoline jumping
  • psychotherapy
  • urbanism
  • children education
  • abstract painting
  • sup board
  • reggio
  • embobyment
  • contemp dans
  • exstatic

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: indie, punk rock, trip hop aesthetic, contemporary jazz, lofi, atmospheric instrumental

Books:
• Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer (I have read 4 times my fav = 3 in Ru + 1 in Eng)
• The Clash of Civilizations and the Remaking of World Order by Samuel P. Huntington changed my pov to world history af all of conflicts in the Earth

In love in films about children and adolescents:
• Moonrise Kingdom by Wes Anderson
• Little Miss Sunshine by Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

• Shaved my her head to total bald by myself on an island in the Sea of ​​Japan in 2021

• Backflip on trampoline! Jumping and doing tricks since 2014

• My key project is the renovation of the 16-kilometers biggest street Garden Ring in Moscow, became the finalist for the European Prize for Urban Public Space by the Centre of Contemporary Culture of Barcelona, 2018 (Oscar in urbanism :)

Teach, Learn, Share

Painting, cooking, Russian language, stories, poetry, mindfulness practice

What I Can Share with Hosts

I believe that every person has an inner creative talent, everybody can paint and I can show you the way to feel pleasure from painting. I can make a creative workshop in abstract art, explain something about architecture and urbanism for children, adolescents and adults for free.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Azerbaijan, Czech Republic, Estonia, Fiji, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Georgia, Israel, New Zealand, Russian Federation, Turkey, Ukraine

Join Couchsurfing to see Daria’s full profile.