Dario Famularo's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 91% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dario’s full profile.


  • 156 references 120 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English, French, Italian; learning German, Japanese
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • PhD in philosophy. Amateur sinologist. Part time traveller.
  • Post Doc at Beijing Language and Culture Unieristy
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Researcher at Beiyu, Part time traveller. Now I am living in Beijing, just arrived and ready to discover the place. I also teach languages on Italki (you can give a look at my profile, where you'll find a video self intro https://italki.cn/i/reft/GE6cAe/GE6cAe/italian?hl=zh-cn)I try to learn everyday as much as I can from people around me. My interests are various and I am always ready to experience something new with curiosity.

I might seem a little bit shy at the beginning. Just give me a small time for ice-breaking.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I host, I surf, I try to involve new people in this great community.

Couchsurfing is a great way to travel, even without moving! It's perfect to feel into the culture of the place you visit and to meet wonderful people who'll help you to re-discover your own place as well, while giving you a small portrait of their own place and culture. I simply could not do without it!

Not every experience I had was a great experience, but all of them were positive anyway. I never had problems because of this website and instead I found here many people ready to help me when I got into troubles.

I hope I can give back to each of my guests at least a small percentage of what I got from my hosts.


Meeting uncommon people. Visiting new places. Considering other points of view. Open my mind as much as I can. The very few people in the world that I can consider friends. Their faults and my faults that helped us to grow up together. My multiform life. Philosophy. Couchsurfing. China. Chinese people. Chinese food. Music. Being not to scared of showing my own fragility. My bed undone. Being a student at university. Laughing. Dancing never minding that I can't dance at all. Tarantella. Going to concerts. Poetry. Being sincere. Listening to loud music in a dark room. Changes. Memories. Dreams. Reading books suggested by friends. Going to theatre. Going to museums. Playing piano. Playing any guitar singing loudly. Living music.

  • culture
  • books
  • poetry
  • singing
  • concerts
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • chinese food
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • dialects
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Music...Let's try to make a short list (not complete, not in order):
The Cure, Kate Bush, Bjork, The Sugarcubes, Mogwai, Sigur Ros, Bowie, Jesus and Mary Chain, Pink Floyd, The Smiths, Radiohead, Kraftwerk, Genesis, Sting, The Police, The Beatles, Smashing Pumkins, Joy Division, Depeche Mode, The Clash, Talk Talk, Tocotronic, Franco Battiato, Fabrizio De Andrè, Area, Bob Dylan, Tom Waits, Patti Smith, Charles Trenet, Pj Harvey, Mercedes Sosa, Anibal Troilo, Folk music from any corner of the world, Classical Music (Shubert, Beethoven, Chopin, Verdi, Shumann, Shubert, Dvorak, Listz, Brahms, Bach...)

Movies: I love GOOD Movies.

Books: my favourite objects.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

From October 2013 to August 2014 I was living in Guangzhou, China, as a foerign student at the Guangzhou University. During my stay in China I tried to get the best from that opportunity. I made as many new experiences as I could. Living there and travelling around the big China was indeed the most inspiring time in my life. Using Couchsurfing as the only source of accomodation during my travels I got to live in the most different situations: in fancy apartments, in a factory, in humble urban villages, in traditional houses in the countryside, in some sort of artistic commune, in supersmall everything-in-20square meters super expensive Honk Kong apartments, and so on.

I worked as a volounteer in the Hui autonomous region of Ningxia (China) for Up Development Innovators (updi.org). I had the happiest time there teaching to, but especially learning from, a pretty big amount of children and teenagers.

I tried the weirdest only-for-laowai (that means foerigners) jobs that China can offer.

And now I am back to China, maybe forever.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to talk about any subject. I usually find 1to1 conversations more inspiring. Sometime I tend to be silent tough.
I can play a bit of piano and guitar. You can ask me to sing, but at your own risk, since it would be hard to stop me afterwards. And we could play something together as well.

I really enjoy knowing new music, every kind of it!
Suggestions about movies, books or anything else are welcome! If you like I'll give you suggestions too.

I can teach you a bit of the languages and dialects I know.
I can cook to you Italian pasta.

I would really enjoy hearing from you about who you are, about what you like and dislike of the place you're living in, and your ideas about the places you have been too.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can offer you a place to stay, suggestions and friendship.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Cambodia, China, France, Germany, Monaco, Netherlands, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Germany, Italy, Taiwan

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Dario’s full profile.

My Groups