david costa's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see david’s full profile.

Overview

  • 4 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese; learning German
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2019
  • travelling long term
  • does it matter?
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Greetings!

My name is David, I am from Portugal and have recently lived in Germany working as a graphic designer. After falling out of love for my work, I decided to sell my things and travel for an undetermined time, searching for new things in life. Some of this travel enjoys the vacation excitements, visiting places, going for a swim, camping wild, but most of it is a lonely struggle for self discovery, fantasies, plans and frustrations.

Half of my travel is done alone, reading, learning music theory, walking around. The other half is done by searching for people and engaging with them in their routines or personal projects (see also www.workaway.info/en/workawayer/davidcosta and https://davidavid.neocities.org/).
Which is to say, I'm independent by nature and like to be often by myself before coming back to the world.

At the moment, my main interests are:
Music, ensemble playing, music theory
Contact improv, acro yoga, body movement
Theatre, improv theater and the arts of stage
Juggling, circus and street performance
Social projects, teaching, inclusion
Sign language, braille, non-verbal communication

Although I was never a professional musician, I've played the trombone in philharmonic bands and sang in choirs. I also joined an amateur balinese gamelan group. At the moment I'm trying to learn the melodica and eventually (if it works) playing it on the street. Therefore I would like to further develop my musical curiosity and meet musicians, composers and instrument makers.
I would also like to get closer to the arts of stage and people who do it in medium/small companies or groups.

I prefer having long conversations than partying or telling jokes. If you need your room and quiet, that's good, I can build my room too and adapt easily. However, expect me to be curious about you and engage in conversation. It's the engagement that matters, not the couch (bed/mattress/floor).

Minimum requirements are, of course:
yes - tolerance, respect, freedom
no - racism, sexism, queerphobia, speciesm
I identify as a cisgender gay male, in case this info makes sense to you.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to travel and see people that inspire me and make me get closer to the human being. I´m learning more about music theory and melodica practice; I'm searching for hosts who do music, theatre, performance, acro yoga, folk, contact improv, teaching, inclusion.

This time, travelling is my life no matter what, I have no home to return to. I'm also doing workaway, but any kind of exchange is mutually rewarding even if it's not officially registered as work.

Interests

  • literature
  • theater
  • performing arts
  • music
  • classical music
  • sign language
  • contact improvisation
  • busking
  • acro yoga
  • balfolk

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC
Olivier Messiaen
György Ligeti
Carlos Paredes

CINEMA
Krzysztof Kieślowski
Abbas Kiarostami
Krzysztof Zanussi

BOOKS
Jorge Luis Borges
G. M. Tavares
Maria Gabriela Llansol

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I can't recall something amazing I've done, but depending on your idea of what's amazing, I might have done it or not. (Well, I'll never forget nude drawing class at university)

Teach, Learn, Share

- Hand drawing, applied geometry, graphic design (davidavid.neocities.org)
- Music theory, keyboard basics, trombone and trumpet basics, melodica
- Improv exercises, contact improv
- Portuguese

What I Can Share with Hosts

I bring very few things with me, so only my skills and heart can be offered to you. If you play an instrument we might try playing / listening. I like improv theatre, contact improv, macro yoga and folk.
As a graphic designer I can assist you in your personal projects.

I love talking about anything

I hate cooking, which is bad, but I love cleaning, which is good

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, France, Greece, Italy, Poland, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Portugal

Join Couchsurfing to see david’s full profile.

My Groups