David Maguire's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 99% response rate
  • Last login about 10 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile.

Overview

  • 80 references 74 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 60, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • professional coach
  • university
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

If you request to stay and we accept please confirm quickly as we get many requests each day. Thanks to all. We like getting Fridge Magnets from your home as a gift if you remember. It’s a great way to remember the lovely people who stay in our home. I am easy going friendly,funny, generous and polite. That’s all we expect from guests. Come into our home and settle into a lovely home environment. We are the best hosts you will find. Kate and I host at our home which is located near the beautiful Manly Beach and Fairlight Harbour Pool. A link to Kates Profile is below. I am a keen cyclist and have ridden all around the world since 2013. Riding 2018 around Europe for four months. the Camino in Spain in 2017 was amazing. 2022 in Nice France was amazing for a few months. Very keen surf boat rower a fun surf sport and coach in Australia. I spent 30 years in the NSW Police as a Detective and am now retired. We have a dog and a cat. Our family Eleanor 30James 28and Jack 23 have moved with careers. We are used to having young adults in our home. All ages welcome however you must have strong legs for our very steep front steps.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I host people from all over the World. Its great to meet lovely people. I have then been hosted by fellow Couchsurfers. I will be riding my bike returning yo Italy, CROATIA France, Spain, Germany,Belgium Amsterdam France Switzerland. Maybe I will stay with people I have hosted in Sydney. It would be great to host some people who could let me stay when I go to Europe for my bike riding adventure. In the future I will be couch surfing staying with friends,camping ,hostels Airbnb and hotels. I have stayed in amazing places around the world. I met some wonderful people couch surfing. I really enjoyed couch surfing and would like to meet more new people. I have references on Kate's Profile as we travelled together in the EU, Mexico and the USA. see Kates Profile https://www.couchsurfing.com/users/1006390452/profile
We live close to beautiful Manly Beach and offer a room for couch surfing. Couples Ok but both need profiles on CS.

Interests

Surf Boat Rowing. Fitness, Bike riding, Surfing, Surf sports. Exploring new cities. Mountain climbing

  • fitness
  • boating
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • rowing
  • law
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

I like fantasy novels. Love game of Thrones. Lord of the Rings. Vikings.
Blues Brothers Nina Simone. Jethro Tull Joy DivisionThe Cure David Bowie John Lee Hooker.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Two month riding in France in 2022,
Four months of riding my bike in Europe 2018.
Eight months travel in 2014 riding the route of the Tour de France and the Giro Italia.
I do surf boat rowing as a competitive sport. Amazing surfing. If you have never seen it. Google Surf Boat carnage and you will see.
I own a camper van in Australia and have toured in it around Australia. So lots of knowledge about travelling in Australia. I have a small Yacht so lots of knowledge about the Ocean and harbour Sailing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to share what I know about my country. I would love to experience and learn more about countries I visit.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Lovely food. A guide to local attractions.
The conversations with hosts last year whilst couch surfing was fantastic.
Many of our hosts really made an effort to get us involved in there little part of the world.
The hosts really helps with local knowledge and invaluable travel information.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Cuba, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Samoa, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile.