Davide Grillo's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Davide’s full profile.

Overview

  • 7 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian; learning English, Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Physioterapist
  • Faculty of Phisiotherapy
  • From Alcamo, Sicily, Italy
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Since September 2018 living in Turin, not able to host people. Not yet! Work in progress.

Hi to everyone, I am Davide from Italy! I am a physioterapist, and after have spent 6 months in Craiova, Romania, for an EVS experience (European Voluntary Service), I came back in Alcamo, probably just to rest a bit before moving again to the next step :D

In Craiova I applied for "KROMATIKON" project, in which we tried to improve book reading among the local population, explaining the importance of being informed, becoming part of the local community.

I enjoyed this period abroad so much, moving by hitchhiking, having a lots of adventures, sleeping everywhere and meeting people from all over the world (we are still a big family). So, as I used CS there, It's a pleasure for me continue to share and live these experiences with other travellers in my place!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because couchsurfing can make your trip even more interesting.
When I travel, I don't like just visit a place very fast and come back at home. I don't travel just to take a picture in the most turistic places, but I wanna feel the city, I like take my time there, meeting local people (or someone that lives there) that can help me to discover really this one (I get crazy visiting old abandoned buildings, or very old libraries for example) sharing with them our experiences and our time. So, I think that CS can help me a lot in these kind of experiences

Interests

  • books
  • folklore
  • drinking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • backpacking
  • hitchhiking
  • language exchange
  • cinema
  • nature
  • reading books
  • meeting new people

Music, Movies, and Books

I grew up listening rock music, but now I can say I listen eveything, from electronic music to some classic songs. Actually, I love also soundtracks from movies that I liked so much.

About cinema, I am in love with "commedia all'italiana", one of the most influent Italian genres during the '60s. Anyway, I can watch easily other kind of movies, from Hollywood classics to gipsies stories around Balkan countries, for example.

The book character who changed my life is Corto Maltese, the romantic sailor by Hugo Pratt (I suggest him to everybody!). I like a lot of different writers, as Kerouac, London, Huxley, Camus, Sartrè, Saramago, Calvino, Terzani etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

It's not so incredible, but one of the best experiences in my life was a a trip in Balcanic countries by hitchhiking! I was with 2 friends (my colleagues of KROMATIKON), and from Romania we visited 5 different countries, 12 cities, changing 20 cars, more or less in 12 days. So beautiful memories about it!

Teach, Learn, Share

I like share everything I know, and also learn everything that is possible to learn. For me, knowledge is the best way to fight all the problems in the world. Just speaking, discussing, hearing it's possible to understand the other points of view and try to find a real solution. Everybody is good to judge the superficial face, it's harder try to understand the deeper reason under it. And if we wanna really make a good change about the world that surrounds us, we need to choose the hardest way!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Macedonia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Romania, Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, Romania

Join Couchsurfing to see Davide’s full profile.

My Groups