Michael Dawson's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.


  • 64 references 39 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Business Owner (Empresario)
  • BA- Communication; BA-Spanish literature; Masters of Appl...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

This community has gone to hell- what has CS turned into? Does no one ever care to improve the shotty app? I’m cancelling my subscription and migrating to bewelcome.

Please take the time to read my profile before sending a request.

I've been sharing meals and drinks at home with CSers for ten years. Like most Csers, I enjoy traveling as well as learning about new cultures.

Soy medio español pero mi lado "guiri" tira mas fuerte- sin embargo, considero España mi hogar y los españoles mi gente (Españoles- ya vereis que tengo un acento guiri pero mi alma es española. Ah y mi madre y su familia tb son españolas, de Málaga).

Likes- Gardening, terraza bbqing, avocadoes, road trips, chortling, fitness, adventure sports, Tv (The Mandalorian) and movies (80´s and general nostalgia stuff mostly).
Dislikes-Frowns, football, negativities, percebes (barnacles- bleehhh) and avocado-haters.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Love to share and hear about all things having to do with travel.

Also, I´m trying to expand my view on world gastronomy and do ask that each CSer who stays with me teach me a dish and leave me a recipe.

I've recently began a plant-based diet so veggies dishes are especially welcomed.


While it´s a fairly easy dish to make, I love to make guacamole as well as to teach others how to make it. Please note- you will have to dance the guacamole song before receiving my method of instruction.

  • reading
  • traveling
  • opera
  • teatro
  • gastronomy
  • frisbee
  • gastronomia
  • buceo
  • senderismo
  • hippies
  • hacky sack
  • croquetas
  • arco y tira

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies and Series:
My "favourite" *wink wink* movie is True Lies (ask me why) but my real fav. movie is Team America World Police.
South Park
Rick and Morty
Bobs Burgers
The Mission
Life is beautiful
Super Troopers
American History X
The Pianist

Fav group- Cake.
I like ska, bluegrass, rock and a bit of pop but I have very lazy ears. I might listen to a song I like but might not be able to recall the name/artist.
Pretty much everything expect trap or reggaeton music is good for me.

The Possibility of an Island by Michel Houllebecq. Next book is either a classic or something Spanish and contemporary- alguna sugerencia?

I really enjoy dystopia, science fiction and magic realism. I do not enjoy fantasy (sorry LOTR/HP fans).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I went bungee jumping in Queenstown, New Zealand- quite intense!

Cruising up the Nile in Egypt was heaps of fun!

*Travelled throughout the South East in the USA, good eats and music.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've been fortunate enough to turn teaching, a passion of mine, into a profession and have experience teaching primary and secondary school subjects; my specialisation is in British school primary subjects so if there are any English teaching CSers reading this, feel free to ask me for help and I'll gladly share my teaching acumen with you.

I run a foodie group in Malaga, we are a small FB group which likes to get together to share calories and laughs, but I honestly have no formal training regading food- I just love to eat. Comer es un placer. Talk to me about food if you want to win brownie points (mmm brownies).

Consequently, I can share the location of some pretty tasty eateries with you here in Malaga.

I can teach you how to say Tuesday like a British person.

I'd love to learn a bit of French.

*I'm curious to see who actually reads CS profiles in their entirety so if you introduce yourself by saying Howdy, you'll really stand out amongst the requests.

Example- Howdy Mike, I'm ....

What I Can Share with Hosts

*My oven is 90 cm so we can roast, bake and make lots of food.
* at times I have a car available and know loads about Malaga so we could potentially organise a side trip to somewhere fun.
*lots of silly stories
*Want to start teaching online or at a school? I've worked in primary education for quite sometime now so perhaps I could give you a bit of guidance.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Egypt, England, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Ireland, Jamaica, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Panama, Poland, Scotland, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • 5 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.

My Groups