Daniel Baerenheuser's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login about 22 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 9 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Norwegian Bokmål
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Business Consultant
  • MSc. International Energy
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Discover Western Africa!

ABOUT ME

After studying in Germany, Istanbul and Paris and gaining our first four years of professional experience in Tanzania and Germany, my wife and I have decided to take a break to explore the rich culture of West Africa. So for the next twelve months we plan to visit different countries in the region, meet people, learn languages and broaden our horizons. We are grateful for any person who would like to meet us along the way.

PHILOSOPHY

"The world is a book, those who do not travel only read a page"
(Saint Augustine)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I started with Couchsurfing after a "social year" in Durban (South Africa). Another volunteer and I decided that we did not just want to fly back to Germany. We rather saw a great chance to experience more of the untold possibilities "Mama Africa" has to offer. During the following six months we were very thankful to get the chance to sleep at about 15 different couchsurfing hosts. We received such a overwhelming hospitality that I became instantly a big fan of the couchsurfing idea. This whole trip developed such a dynamic that we crossed the whole African continent and finally arrived in Cairo (Egypt).

Interests

I already mentioned that I am very interested in getting to know other cultures. Beside that I am a considerable sports fan (especially football and Crossfit), like to read to listening to music.

  • books
  • cooking
  • flying
  • traveling
  • music
  • sports
  • soccer
  • history
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

My interests in music are pretty divers. In South Africa I started to get in touch with jazz music. Tunes from artists like Hugh Masekela made a big impression on me. Beside that I have allways been a big rap fan. Particular German rap is one big passion of mine. I would be very glad to show you some of my favorite artists.

With regards to books I always preferred the nonfictional ones dealing with issues that interest me in this particular situation. So at the moment my books center around African art and culture.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Since military/social service is still compulsory for every german male after finishing High School, I had the great opportunity to spend one year in a shelter for former street-children. It was amazing to support some of the boys, although very young, to change their mindset and to take responsibility for their future. A couple of months one of them finished his university degree and became a teacher. That made me unbelievably thankful.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I would love to share my travel experiences with anybody who is interested.
Of course I would be also glad to answer questions about Germany to help to learn a few words of my mother tongue.
Finally, I believe that I learned to cook three, four decent meals in the last months. I would be happy to share these with my host :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, Ethiopia, Greece, Italy, Kenya, Malawi, Malta, Mozambique, Portugal, Rwanda, Spain, Sudan, Tanzania, Turkey, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Côte d'Ivoire, France, Germany, South Africa, Tanzania, Turkey

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.

My Groups