Dean Shivji's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 38 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dean’s full profile.

Overview

  • 165 references 117 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Gujarati, Hindi, Urdu; learning French, Indonesian, Japanese, Malay
  • 55, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Light Warrior
  • Hope ~ Faith ~ Grace
  • From Calgary - Toronto - Ottawa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

At present, I am undergoing life transitions in all aspects of my Life with a sense of optimism and new possibilities.

Due to COVID-19 as well as other reasons, I am extremely selective about hosting anyone. I am fully vaccinated and prefer being around people who are also vaccinated.

ABOUT ME

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY BEFORE SENDING ME A REQUEST.
I enjoy everything to do with nature, seeing magic and beauty in the simplest things, and living in the moment.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Sharing a kind of "trust" that is rare today.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have hosted hundreds of couchsurfers and for many of whom the experience remains lasting. I have also been a couchsurfer while travelling overseas. I have hosted at least 3X more people than the number of references.

Interests

I truly enjoy the outdoors and being in nature. In the warmer seasons, I enjoy paddle-boarding, kayaking, camping, hiking, cycling around the city and waking everywhere I can .

In the colder seasons, I enjoy snow shoeing, hot tubing, hibernating, and also walking everywhere I can.

Indoors, I enjoy listening to music, reading, meditation, Netflix, cooking, and chilling in the hammock.

Throughout the year, I always have several volunteering gigs in which I am actively involved i.e. promoting the arts, emergency response, and helping people through career transitions.

  • music festivals
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • reading
  • magic
  • world music
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • philosophy
  • road trips
  • travel
  • nature
  • museums
  • deep conversations
  • hammocks
  • the arts
  • paddleboarding
  • outdoors activities
  • lounging
  • budhism
  • transformation
  • service
  • synchronicities
  • diversity & pluralism
  • home-cooking
  • connnecting
  • "home"
  • spirit & energy
  • "grace"

Music, Movies, and Books

Writers / Poets/Visionries: Yogananda, J. Khrishnamurthi, The Aga Khan, Dalai Lama, Gary Zukav, Noah Lavine, M. Scott Peck, Dan Millman, Mitch Alboom, Eckhart Tolle, James Redfield, Paulo Coelho, Rumi, Ken Wilber, Paul Brunton, Khalil Gibran, Starhawk, Carlos Castaneda, Dorris Lessing, Abraham Hicks, Oriah Mountain Dreamer, Alan Watts,...

Music: Downtempo Trance - Psybient - PsyChill - Deep/Ethno House - Ambient/Lounge - Tribal/World - Hip Hop (Music for me is either grounding or uplifting, depending on my mood)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Life-changing epiphany.

Discovering concepts like Hope, Faith and Grace while backpacking for 1 year through India, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan.

Co-founded a local transformational music and arts festival.

Teach, Learn, Share

Be generous with your material wealth, knowledge, influence, personal resources and time, and make a difference in the world around you.

There is sooooooo much.....to learn, to teach, to share. But it starts with YOU!

What I Can Share with Hosts

NON-SMOKERS ONLY!!!

To better your chances of me hosting you, try having a complete and detailed profile and sending me a personalized message. The more details, the better. If you are travelling with others, share more information to help me plan accordingly.

I can offer you and your travelling companion(s) a very clean and furnished private guest room with fresh linen and towels. Also, you will have access to laundry, kitchen, WiFi, hot tub in the cold weather, bicycles, snow shoes, kayaks, and other leisure stuff.

Whenever possible, I enjoy preparing and sharing meals.

I absolutely love exposing travellers to urban and underground arts, music and cultural scene and even going on excursions to places outside the city i.e. Gatineau Park.

Note: All I ask is that you are respectful of my home. My home is not a hotel, and Air B&B nor a hostel. Please help me keep my home clean and tidy.

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Costa Rica, France, India, Indonesia, Jordan, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, India, Indonesia, Tanzania

Old School Badges

  • 4 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Dean’s full profile.

My Groups