Logo orange

Jena Desai

Oakland, California, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jena's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 42 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Gujarati, Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • Human Resources
  • B.A. Biochemistry and Public Health
  • From Anaheim, CA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To only do things that make me happy!!

ABOUT ME

I currently live in the Bay Area...specifically, Oakland. I work in San Francisco. I have now lived in the Bay Area for almost 10 years and absolutely love it up here. Previous hobbies have included biking and rock climbing (one day, I'll go back). I also volunteer as a Hepatitis Counselor at the Berkeley Free Clinic. Our motto is "Healthcare for People Not Profit." We have roots in the People's Park riots and have socialist ideals. I enjoy it a ton and have met a lot of really cool people by doing that. My politics are to the left and my religion is non existent. I am an introvert by nature so can seem shy at first. I love people though and do open up when I feel right. My personality makes me a good listener.

PHILOSOPHY

I used to do a lot more volunteering and putting other things before me. That's changing as I realize that I can't help others if I don't take care of myself. I am now focusing a lot more energy on making myself happy and doing things that I enjoy while keeping my interests in balance.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I signed up several years ago but nothing really ever came of it. I offered a ride from the Bay Area to So Cal with someone who is really involved with CS and from what he told me, he has met a ton of awesome people and I wanted that experience. So I asked to have my account reinstated and well here I am. Now, I attend local CS gatherings in San Francisco and the East Bay. I have hosted a bit and surfed a bit as well. I've met a ton of cool people by doing this. Good times.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

A bit of hosting and surfing and local shenanigans. But nothing short of amazing! I'm sad that I took a break from CS and now have a 76% couch request response rate. :-(

Interests

Biking, rock climbing, hanging out with my friends, volunteering, and people. I enjoy bars AND clubs (depending on which group of friends I am with). Some may think this makes me indecisive but I really just think it doesn't take much for me to have a good time as long as I am with people I like. I enjoy dancing. I enjoy and NEED downtime as well. Social justice is important to me but so is laughter.

Music, Movies & Books

Music wise: I am pretty open. I often listen to the radio when I am in my car so that takes care of all of the popular rock, alternative, electronic, hip hop, and pop. (Eh, judge me if you'd like :-P) I like to dance to house, 80s, and hip hop. I like The Bravery, Radiohead, Muse, MGMT, Green Day, Daft Punk, Justice, Bloc Party, Rise Against, Alkaline Trio, The Killers... really the list could go on. I also go in phases sometimes where I will get really sick of one thing and move to the next.

Books: I really like David Sedaris and also liked Middlesex and Running with Scissors. As for classics go, I love The Great Gatsby. I liked Motorcycle Diaries and Mountains beyond Mountains. I think I like stories about people that are real or could be very real. Currently reading the Song of Fire and Ice Series. It's damn good.

Movies: Slumdog Millionaire, V for Vendetta, Juno, The Dark Knight, The Notebook (yea, I'm a girl, so what?), The Matrix, L'auberge Espanole, many things....

TV: Dexter, The Wire, Weeds, Grey's Anatomy, Arrested Development, The Office, 30 Rock

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Swam into the blue grotto on Capri Island in Italy. Italy is by far my favorite country to visit. Semuc Champay in Guatemala, Mayan Ruins, Mayan caves.

Teach, Learn, Share

This is a hard one. I don't think I have a specific skill that I could teach. I know a lot of things in general. I can bake some really good chocolate chip cookies. I am a good cook in general. I want to learn how to surf (in the water) so if you want to teach me, I'm open. I could help with English if you're willing to teach me phrases in other languages.

Countries I've Visited

Belize, Canada, Cayman Islands, France, Germany, Guatemala, India, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Netherlands, Singapore, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jena's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile