Deirdre Clarke's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 76% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Deirdre’s full profile.

Overview

  • 57 references 49 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 42, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Teacher
  • Very much so.
  • From Galway, County Galway, Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I made some great people through couchsurfing - people who have transformed places and some whom I've hosted who have become regular visitors. I can’t think of a better way to get to know a place than hanging out with a local . We expect guests to help out by doing the basic things like cleaning up and generally pitching in with the typical household tasks.

Please check my favourites on my profile where I’ve linked some of the places I like in Bristol . This will give you an idea of the type of things I enjoy.
If you are looking for weekly events and a great guide to everything Brizzle then check out Bristol 24/7 .

Check out
https://www.atlasobscura.com
for the odder, weirder places to visit

We have a dog - so I prefer people who like dogs . at the moment, the only way I can host is if u are happy to have the dog sleep in the same room as you .

Enjoy your travels !

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet new people and make connections across the globe 🌎. I live with my long term partner and dog .

Interests

everything, going out, films, books, travelling, animals, art, sport,walking, exploring, laughing, festivals!

  • animals
  • arts
  • books
  • photography
  • festivals
  • cooking
  • meditation
  • walking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • camping
  • surfing
  • sports
  • language exchange
  • comedy

Music, Movies, and Books

Casa de papel, La Haine, Father Ted, anything with Tina Fey but especially 30 Rock, The wire - those characters will always be with me , Catastrophe with Sharon Horan, Comedians in cars getting coffee, L’auberge Espanol ( thanks to Rafaela), Amores Perros , 21 grams- I love this idea although it’s probably intestinal gases. Mad Men . flight of the con hordes. Jagodaville , the it crowd, Friday night dinner.

Books : I do love to read . I read a lot of travel writing so anything by the extraordinary Dervla Murphy. She cycled the world by bicycle or walked in a time when such a venture for a solo woman was unthinkable.

William Dalrymple - all his books are inspiring and so packed full of knowledge.

Mangus O’Machain’s travel books are also incredible . From living in the Himalayas and walking through snow in flip -flops to deliver medical supplies to lepers;
To a searingly honest portrayal of his journey through Africa on a bus. It is this ‘warts and all’ portrait of himself that deserves as much applause as his adventures .

I adored Tiziano Terzani’s ‘ A fortune teller told me’

All of Jon Ronson’s writing .

Trying to read Baudelaire to improve the auld French.

I didn’t realise that the hipsters got here first but I do like Haruki Murakami.

Ordinary Dogs, Yoga for people who are too lazy to actually do it , A path with Heart, Off you Go, Spiritual tourist , a cello in Saravejo, I could go on and on and on .

Music: At the moment 60s/ 70s French music in a futile attempt to improve my languages . Edith Piaf,
France Gall, Francoise Hardy, serge Gainsburg.

stromae the Belgian maestro, inna Modja ( canacan) discobitch, earths kit, zou bisou bisou, coeur de pirate .

marina and the diamonds . Lana del Ray

Teach, Learn, Share

Let's share a meal and talk and chat . I live with my partner and dog .I'm happy to show u Bristol and my favourite places some of which I’ve marked in my favourites .
I love languages so maybe we can have an English language exchange maybe you can help me with Spanish / french / Italian or whatever you speak .

What I Can Share with Hosts

I really appreciate hosts who are so generous with their time and home . I'd like to share stories and food , I cook most veggie dishes . I'd love to welcome u to my home in return .

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Cambodia, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Guernsey, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Laos, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands Antilles, Northern Ireland, Portugal, Scotland, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Greece, Ireland, Scotland, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Deirdre’s full profile.

My Groups