Delilah Poon's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Delilah’s full profile.

Overview

  • 8 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning French
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Recreation & Play!
  • a little of this, a little of that!
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It's a sustainable way to travel to learn about local economic, social and political conditions of other cultures. This platform helps explore the diverse narratives of the couchsurfing community by meeting new people in neighborhood socials and to observe the way they live through couch requests.

One of my favourite memories involves my first couchsurfing experience in the alpine fortified city of Bolzano, home of the UNESCO Dolomites. Despite having previous arrangements with other couchsurfers, my host graciously welcomed into his home after reading my desperate “SOS” request. I could have never imagined a world full of trust, friendship, kindness, generosity, openness with out courchsurfing!

Interests

*blowing bubbles over the top of waterfalls and lakes and watching them drift before it pops!

Hiking Enthusiast:
regularly hikes the Kananaskis terrain; favourite trail is Jura Creek

Mediocre Rock Climber:
my friends hoist me it becomes difficult but I have successfully completed a multipitch climb!

Novice Snowboarder/ Skiier:
haha, slowly learning...

Alternative Transport:
all season commuter cyclist and organized hitchhiking enthusiast. Recently completed a basic bike mechanics course to learn about bike maintenance and to be self sufficient in the event of a misadventure. Utilized rideshare platforms for long distance city-to-city travel and a tool for cultural enrichment

Foodie:
proud alumni of the Start from Scratch program, a Western Canadian culinary initiative that exposes students to cooking techniques, fundamentals of food procurement and celebrity chefs. Continues to experiment with produce, recipes and spices. . . and I still can't make pancakes =(

. . . also into yoga, slacklining, juggling, and penny boarding ;)

  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • yoga
  • marathon
  • reading
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • skydiving
  • snowboarding
  • economics
  • hitchhiking
  • lakes

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Recently: managed to hitchhike after being drenched in a hail/ thunderstorm trek overlooking the dolomites with some bold russian couchsurfing girls and experienced the autobahn -the no speed limit highway!

Past: skydive, ran a half marathon, sat through a vipassana course, and guerilla planted a raspberry bush without being electrocuted... haha

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Serbia, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Delilah’s full profile.

My Groups