Direncan Ugurlu's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Direncan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 35 references 25 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Turkish; learning Hungarian, Russian
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Youth-Worker
  • National University of Public Service
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Currently studying master`s degree in Budapest/Hungary in International Relations. Previously I worked in Greece and Bulgaria, studied in California and Latvia. I was a volunteer in Bulgaria for one and a half year in the framework of European Volunteer Service. Later I continued working in NGOs for a while around Europe. We mostly dealt with young people on topics such as anti-racism, anti-violence, anti-sexism, homophobia, EU values, non-discrimination and so on. Mentioning this, I would like to highlight that I do not discriminate anybody on race, sex, ethnicity, religion or political views, and I expect the same:)

I love to travel, meet new people, enjoy socializing, share and gain. So, I try to do these whenever I have the time and means of sources. I have the experience of living in international shared flats for around 9 years, so you can expect a responsible, respectful, clean and tidy guest/host.

Although I was born and raised in Turkey, for the last 5 years I took every possible opportunity to relocate abroad due to awful political and social situation of the country, which politically I am completely against. Nonetheless, I recommend you Turkey as an amazing touristic destination, which I think is quite unique and beautiful in various ways.

Hope to meet you!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am here for various reasons. First of all, it is a great opportunity creator for meeting new people in unknown territories which helps a lot. Through that, I learned/experienced in a great extent. Secondly and obviously it is a great website to diminish traveling costs and spend some quality time with locals. This also fills one with a similar motivation to do the same for his/her guests in the future.

Interests

I love movies and books, watch/read a lot. In my free-time, I also try to do sports as much as I can. Mainly basketball. I also used to play licensed chess.

  • arts
  • books
  • wine
  • beer
  • politics
  • movies
  • chess
  • traveling
  • sports
  • basketball
  • history
  • football
  • craft beer
  • gastronomy

Music, Movies, and Books

My imdb.com profile: dirensar .You can check all my previous movie ratings.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Surviving a winter in Latvia:)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Experiences and tips from all my travels, my free time, nice conversations.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bulgaria, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Moldova, Serbia, Turkey, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Direncan’s full profile.