Dominik Gerhart's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dominik’s full profile.


  • 17 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Chinese (Simplified), Latin, Spanish
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • teacher
  • a-levels, completed studies of mathematics, teaching degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Teaching mathematics at a state school in Lichtenstein/Meerane..


They would say Dominik is a very nice person, but sometimes he can get quite annoying. He normaly stays calm, but when you try his patience too often or you disappoint him, he can get a bit angry, but that seldomly lasts longer than for 20 minutes. He likes food and is very honest and always afraid of leaving something behind. Also caring about environment and always open to new aquaintances. From temper he might be a descendant of Dschinghis Khan.


Celebrate the difference, in the end we are more alike then we might notice. I like people from all parts of the world and discussing about politics and other issues is one of my favourite things to do. I love environmental protection, that is why I try to use public transport or bike as much as possible.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have a nice flat in Glauchau with a guest room and a guest bathroom. I am living there on the ground floor with my wife and my son. We are open for guests, can offer you a kitchen and a place to wash your clothes and hang them. In summer, we can chill out together in our garden.


I stayed with Mykyta in Lviv who was a really great guy. I was happy to meet him but also afraid his gas ofen will explode. But nothing did happen to us.

Here in Almaty I was not hosted but I had a great guide, Gretchen and I was even allowed to attend one class at university to talk German to the students, so happy about that. Couchsurfing is a great way of falling in love with a place.


I like dancing very much. In fact, I do standard, Latin and also Rock'n'Roll dancing. When I am not dancing, I like cooking and talking about politics, history, mathematics and so on. I love applying mathematical laws to day-to-day situations. (Normaly because it sounds funny) I love compairing German culture to all other cultures in the world and to talk about travelling.

As I am married to a loving Chinese girl, I am also interested in Chinese culture, food and language.

Music, Movies, and Books

Rock and Roll, Glenn Miller, Frank Sinatra, Balkan Beats, Polka, Benny Goodman, 70s, 80s, German Schlager, Star Trek

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

On my first long trip with friends it was after a nice night in a former socialist sleeping-car to arrive at dawn in Istanbul and to see the vast blue ocean and the palm trees passing by at my window.

Another time I took a draisine ride in Central Sweden, that was great going to the vast forrest with no people around, just enjoying the sounds and smell of the forrest.

First climbing the Great Wall of China and then seeing the large area around and from horizon to horizon this great wall spanning all over the mountaintops.

Teach, Learn, Share

Acually, I can read and write and do also a bit of mathematics. As a teacher of Mathematics and English I can tell you about those things, German history (not only WW 2) and cooking. I also now some German or international songs. I would like to learn how to drive mediterrean/balkan style, rafting, outdoor sports, about religion, history and culture and also some nice recepies from all over the world. One thing I really love is comparing (not judging) my customs to those of other nations. I also know a bit about English/German literature and how to get nearly everywhere cheap and comfortable by train. Sometimes I am thinking about opening a private travel agency.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Cuba, Egypt, Kazakhstan, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Montenegro, North Korea, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Egypt, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Dominik’s full profile.

My Groups