Mardiyatul Adawiyah's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 80% response rate
  • Last login 13 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mardiyatul’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 7 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Indonesian, Korean, Malay; learning Arabic
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • I am an English teacher and lecturer-wannabe.
  • Magister of English (M.A)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello everyone,

Thank you for taking your time to read what I have to say. I and my family are a simple, open minded but not quite your ordinary family and we love learning and discovering new things in life. I have been hosting travelers in my home for a few years (on other hospitality sites) and I would like to continue doing that – cultural and help exchange. I am currently running my own private English course. My goal as the principal of the school is to provide youth from my region with the English skills required to communicate better in the modern, and therefore provide them with better opportunities in their lives. Thus, my mission is to make English as a habit in my school. Then, my students will get used to speak English.

I desperately need volunteers to help my students to reach their full potential in English, so I would like to welcome any volunteers either native or non-native speakers, friendly, independent, confident, happy and responsible, who speaks reasonable English to assist me with teaching and learning activity in the classroom. You would help immensely by having simple conversations with my students and give them a real English speaking experience inside or outside the classroom. My students starts from 7 of age, ranging from elementary to senior high school and adult-students, most of them even the older students are a little bit shy but sweet and well-behaved (most of the time). Ideally I like you to stay with us the whole duration so that you can join all classes. I think would be good if you can stay with us for at least 2 days. Dumai currently doesn’t receive many tourists and consequently, I and my students has rarely practiced with foreigners.

All the students are very welcoming and curious about having visitors and I am certain that you will have a great experience while interacting with them. You can expect answering all their curious questions, pose for pictures and be invited for food and hangout.

I would also appreciate any help that you are willing to lend (your hand, time and effort) to support my local, independently run English school. If you have experience in training and education, that would be a bonus – I need help with developing training aids for my school. Or if you have knowledge and interest in other skills that would be great as well.

My home as well as my private school is located at the centre of Dumai city with Malay culture. Dumai is not exactly a place that one would visit for trips or holidays, but it makes a nice stop over for those coming in from Melacca, Batam or Penang to Sumatera island (Bukittinggi, Lake Toba and Padang).

No credentials are required. Don’t worry if you don’t have previous experience in teaching. I don’t really need a teaching experience, your presence in the classroom and your efforts in encouraging students to have simple conversations is still very valuable, but if you have it, that will be awesome.

Thank you for reading this far. I hope you will find this information useful. Please ask if there is anything you don’t understand. What I offer might not be spectacular and I realize there are some exciting and adventurous experiences on offer on this website. Nonetheless, if you like to enjoy a slower-paced life and have more time to yourself (to finish writing book, to figure out what to do next, etc), I think you will be in the right place, come be part of my family and enjoy the best experience in Dumai!

If you decide that you want to spend your time with a simple, open-minded Asian family, do drop me a line. I hope to host you at in Dumai, stay in my house with my family, join my English course and introduce you the unique culture of Indonesia. I, my students and my family look forward to welcoming you to Dumai, Riau. I am very spontaneous, don't hesitate to text me or drop by when you feel getting together, I am managing to pick you up by the time of your arrival. And “Welcome to your second home in Dumai!” :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I find Couchsurfing is one of the best site to support my English course program in which I am strongly encourage my students to be able to speak English fluently. Through Couchsurfing I also want to make a good networks among couchsurfers and those who have the same program as mine.

If you believe that you can learn something from the experience I offer and you feel my students can learn from your life’s adventures, text me and let's organize our meeting.

Interests

  • culture
  • hosting
  • hospitality
  • sharing stories
  • meet new people
  • learning english
  • teaching english
  • practicing english

Music, Movies, and Books

I love all kinds of music: no special one, prefer horror movies than any else and non-fiction books for instance psychology, parenting, grammar, education and business books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

English has become my hobby since I was young. Running this English course is my way to make a living to support my family. I care about my students' improvement especially in speaking. I have interest in making friends with anyone, learning new things and enjoying share knowledge. One day, I hope I can travel around the world.

This is the first English course which has an English speaking practice with foreigners as one of compulsory program thus anyone who dare to speak English with foreigners must be my former students or my students.

I and my family like hosting people, it is my pleasure and joy to meet and share experiences and idea with my visitors.

Teach, Learn, Share

Classes in my school run from morning to evening and mostly consist of three lessons per day. I would also like to invite you to visit government schools in the mornings after or before the class, where you can help me by talking with students there and promoting my English course program.

The evening class mostly consists of adult-students, I usually finish the class around 9 p.m as some of them are schooling. But we can stay up conversing or having meal outside all night with our visitors. You can take your time off to explore nearby places or visiting mangrove forest not so far from my house. It would be a great experience for the students to accompany you around Dumai. They are eager to show you the real Indonesia, in a town where the locals are genuinely interested in meeting you.

You will experience the local culture, taste the local food and eat a lot of tropical fruits. In short, I and my students will do our best to take you to see interesting and untouristed sites around Dumai: local beaches, night market, even some visitors celebrate their birthday with my students!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Volunteers can share or teach English a few hours a day. In exchange for your help/in return for your efforts, I offer you peaceful, private accommodation in a private room behind my house with its own separate entrance and private bathroom, with shared facilities and shared meals. I am very happy to welcome creative people who can bring new and refreshing ideas for my course. If you have a good idea how to teach English with fun, just tell me. I need much advise from you to make my students more fluent and confidence to speak English.

You are most welcomed to dine together with my family and try our home cooked meal if the food suits you. I will provide simple breakfast, water, dinner and unlimitted coffee. Dishes are prepared by my wonderful mom and you will be able to taste true local cuisine. We are not vegan or vegetarian you but we do our best to eat healthily. If you have special diet requirement and want to prepare your own meal, you can use the kitchen or cook together with my mom. It is my pleasure and joy to host and share with volunteers!.

Vegetarians welcome but know that vegetarians are not common in my place so I will need your help navigating your dietary needs. If you are vegan, I and my students happily drop you by and accompany to the vegetarian cafe. You may have your own option to get food by yourself, I will show you good places and cheap price for traditional foods with unique taste. Fresh food supplies are aplenty, with wet market, wholesale market and supermarket 15-20 minutes walk away.

Countries I’ve Visited

Indonesia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Indonesia

Join Couchsurfing to see Mardiyatul’s full profile. It’s free!