Peter Engström's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile.

Overview

  • 1 reference
  • Fluent in English, Swedish; learning German, Japanese
  • 51, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Train conductor
  • Restaurant school, history classes at Uppsala University
  • From Nyköping, Södermanland County, Sweden
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
Travel to Japan in august 2017

To see more of the world and learn more about other cultures.

ABOUT ME
If you ask my friends they will say that I'm a nice guy with a big heart. Always friendly and always busy with some new project. I take an interest in helping people and meeting new friends. I have worked as a waiter and bartender for many years and I love to make new contacts. Now I work as an conductor at a railroad company.

I'm new to couchsurfing but hey, you never know until you try. :)
I'm looking forward to meeting new friends all over the world.

PHILOSOPHY
I live to enjoy each day! I want to see what's behind the next hill and are always curious about life, the Universe and everything! :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I'm new to this but was recommended to join this site by a friend who have been couchsurfing some time now. I am used to have a lot of friends staying over and i Love to have people around the house and get to know new people and learn about the world. You can never have to many friends. :)

Interests

Interests... they are many. I like hiking and sailing (when I can get my hands on a boat), and have been fencing (rapier and broadsword) for some years, it's good exercise and fun!
I read a lot (my bookcases are overflowing), love to cook and have friends over. Music, photography, movies, history, traveling and gaming is also some of my interests.

My newest hobby is Geocaching. It's fun, you get exercise and you have to solve riddles. And of course, you meet a lot of new people from all over the world.

  • photography
  • acting
  • cooking
  • japanese food
  • gardening
  • anime
  • reading
  • sailing
  • fencing
  • astronomy
  • history
  • geocaching
  • japanese culture
  • tolkien
  • larp
  • beer brewing
  • fantasy books
  • historical reenactment

Music, Movies, and Books

Music is feelings, you listen to different kind of music depending on your mood for the moment. It could be rock, pop, classic, RnB, world music or techno. Anything goes. :)
I read a lot. Thrillers, crime novels, fantasy, sci-fi for the most part. Favorites is Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams, Laurie R King, Tolkien, Agatha Christie and Tom Clancy.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

2015 I signed on as a deckhand on the tall ship Götheborg, a replica of a 1800-century sailing ship that sailed to China and back for the East India Company.
I worked onboard for two weeks and we sailed from Germany to Amsterdam and then over the English channel to Dover.
A fantastic adventure and experience I recommend to everyone! I plan on going on another sailing adventure in a near future.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would like to learn japanese and of course local food tradition.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Swedish culture and cooking.

Countries I’ve Visited

Denmark, England, Finland, Germany, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Peter’s full profile.

My Groups