Ed Marth's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ed’s full profile.

Overview

  • 9 references 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French
  • 63, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Classic cars
  • B.A.
  • From London, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Willing and able to take in refugees from Ukraine!

https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/news/2022/03/canada-launches-new-temporary-residence-pathway-to-welcome-those-fleeing-the-war-in-ukraine-en-ua.html
Додаткова імміграційна підтримка для осіб, постраждалих від ситуації в Україні

https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/immigrate-canada/ukraine-measures/cuaet.html#ukrainian

Triple-vaccinated against Covid-19.

Of all the books in the world, the best stories are found between the pages of a passport.

I just bought a translation device which translates 20 different languages in real time. So if you can’t speak English we will still communicate quite well.

Able to host longer term surfers who want to learn English in an immersion atmosphere. Niagara Falls, Toronto, and the Great Lakes are all day trips from my house.

I like skiing, classic cars, motorcycles. I have a very friendly dog here who is a golden retriever/Australian shepherd mix. My home is in the Old North of London, a clean, quiet, safe, green, affluent neighbourhood 1.5 km from the east gate of Western University and 1 km from Kings College.

Pick up/drop off at airport/bus/train no problem.

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/ed.marth.5
Instagram https://www.instagram.com/marth.ed/
VK edmarth

If you are considering a Working Holiday in Canada, here is a helpful link. http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/work/iec/eligibility.asp?country=all&cat=NA

If you are considering moving to Canada here is a helpful link.
https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/immigrate-canada.html

I could also show you some of my favourite places in the US ... like Las Vegas and the Grand Canyon.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Meet new people from across the world. I have hosted people from Europe, Asia, and South America.

Interests

Ski
Sail
Dogs
Classic cars
I have season tickets for the London Knights hockey club.

  • dogs
  • instructor
  • motorcycles
  • traveling
  • cars
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • lakes
  • postcrossing

Music, Movies, and Books

Varied, mostly 80's music. Favourite concerts were Dark Side of the Moon and The Wall by Pink Floyd. I also saw David Bowie twice.
I like Stanley Kubrick movies, or anything with Clint Eastwood.
1984, A Clockwork Orange, enjoy non-fiction/historical once in a while.
My favorite book as a child was the World Atlas, and I had a globe in my room.
GoT, Walking Dead, Homeland, Family Guy, Simpsons

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Backpacked around Europe when I was 17, before the internet, smartphones, and GPS, lol. I used to really appreciate it when a local would show me around, or invite me into their home ....and that is why I'm on Couchsurfing now, to pay it forward.

Teach, Learn, Share

I was a a Ski Patroller for 8 years, and taught disabled kids to ski in the Track-3 program for 5 years.
In 2014 I volunteered at the Mastercard Memorial Cup hockey tournament here in London, and had a police reference check done at that time.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Wash your car ( I love cars), walk your dog, cut your lawn, and I cook a great wiener schnitzel.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahamas, China, Croatia, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Norway, Russian Federation, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Canada, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Ed’s full profile.

My Groups