Elias Hinderberger's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 88% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elias’s full profile.

Overview

  • 34 references 24 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Swiss German; learning Italian, Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Program Manager at a Community Development Corporation
  • College
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi! My name is Elias, and the things I enjoy most in life are fixing things, building things, playing games, cooking, making cocktails, and dancing. I bought my house in Baltimore in 2021, and spent a year and a half gutting and renovating it. I learned so much, and built a really beautiful space that I love sharing with others! Since then, I have been acting as a handyman for friends, family, and other people with small projects.

I also host a regular game night at my house with friends, mostly people I have known for 20+ years (Baltimore is a big small town, at the end of the day!). I also go out swing dancing most weeks and never miss the honky tonk nights. I also wish I got out to more Latin dance nights, but have not been able o work that into my regular schedule yet! When traveling, I always look up the local swing dance scene to meet new dancers and experience the different styles.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

When hosting - I love to show surfers around or facilitate their being in the city I love! I am from Baltimore, though I left for college in North Carolina and then moved to New Orleans for 5 years after that. I returned during the pandemic, and since then have really found my home in Charm City again, and I love showing this gem of a city off. I also have plenty of space in my beautiful newly renovated house.

When surfing, I love staying with people so I can bask in some hometown pride and make a new friend! In my opinion, there is no better way to explore a place than through the eyes of a local who loves it.

Music, Movies, and Books

Andrew Bird, Pink Floyd, Dr. Dog, Paul Simon, Taj Mahal, Ricky Skaggs, Earl Scruggs, Old Crow Medicine Show, Alt-J, Jus Post Bellum, The Fleet Foxes, The Decemberists, Aurora Nealand and the Royal Roses, Lake Street Dive, KRS-ONE, Kendrick Lamar, MADE IN HEIGHTS, Muddy Waters, J-Cole, Infected Mushroom, Aretha Franklin, Ray Charles, The Supremes, Space Buddha, Squirrel Nut Zippers, Nina Simone, and many, many more.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Moved to New Orleans on a whim. Stayed for 5 years

Teach, Learn, Share

I knows quite a bit about restaurants (cocktails, service and beer), woodworking (old school furniture building, mostly windsor chair building), and business and organizational systems development and implementation (its much juicier than it sounds). Also, I am a swing dance (Lindy Hop in particular) teacher. I also enjoying playing some basic bitch guitar and singing!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Any kind of swing dance skills, music, singing, cooking skills and so so so many laughs.

Countries I’ve Visited

Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, India, Italy, Netherlands, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, Nepal, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Elias’s full profile.

My Groups