Elia Maracani's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 90% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elia’s full profile.


  • 49 references 23 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian; learning Polish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Cyber Security Specialist
  • Master degree in Computer Science
  • From Bergamo, Bergamo, Italy
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm just a normal Italian guy with many passions among which, of course, reigns the traveling one! I always try to travel as much as possible. I used to travel almost every weekend, but now, since 2018 when I started to work in this company, I don't have as much free time as I had before (don't get me wrong, I love what I do).

I'm here on CouchSurfing because I believe in the original message that CouchSurfing was trying to spread since the beginning: "explore the world like a local"! Meet new people (and actually get to know them!), experience different cultures, discover new places, try new food, jump into unknown adventures, because this is the only way we have to destroy the prejudices that we were raised into (because of the way our society works).
Travel is the only thing that can make you realize that we as humans are all one and the same.

On a more light note, I like doing sports, I've been practicing Parkour for over 8 years now (started out in 2011) but I took a break last year because of an injury that I'm still recovering from.
To prove you have read my profile, start the message with ALLONS-Y
Reading is something big for me, I can't always travel, so when I'm "stuck" at home, this is my solution to keep on traveling. Read someone else's story, life or experience. I recently realized how every time I read a book my mind actually creates a movie of its own, not in the sense that I imagine how it would be, but that it is actually as if I am in the book (It's hard to explain, but it's a fantastic feeling)

Books are amazing, but sometimes, you just want to lay down and watch a TV show. I'm actually kind of addicted to a few of them if I have to be honest: Doctor Who is my absolute favourite; The Magicians is just WOW; FRIENDS; How I Met Your Mother; Vikings; Mr. Robot; and so many more.

I'd define myself as a Scientific guy, but I do have a passion for art as well. My two favourite artists among them all are Van Gogh and Leonardo Da Vinci. They have an incredibly different style, I know, but I guess this is why I love them so much: they describe the two sides of me.

To sum it up, I'm always up to meet new people, be it for a beer, a walk in the city, a hike, a movie or, of course, a party ;)

If you wanna get to know me more, drop me a line here or on IG: @eliawanderlust

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

So many reasons! As I said before: to learn new things, get to know different point of views and cultures, but also to improve my English and learn new languages (currently I am working on different accents from the UK, learning Polish and starting to learn Russian).

BUT, probably the main reason, for me, is to meet new people.
Since I was 10 I've always loved meeting people from other countries, listen to their stories, their life experiences, their culture and lifestyle. I remember once, when I was 11, on the Camino de Santiago, I met a group of Australians in a hostel one night and I spent the whole night talking with them, up to the point in which my mom had to come and drag me away hahaha

Also, it's a great opportunity to help each other when traveling! Most of us that have a flat/house have at least a spare couch or a piece of floor that can be shared with other travelers. Why waste money on hotels if all you want is to meet people and travel the world? What better way than opening up your place to other fellow travelers? This way not only you make new friends, but you also end up with a new place to visit and, most of the times, with life-long friends! :)


  • traveling
  • extreme sports
  • computer science
  • science
  • meeting new people

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to almost all kind of music, but lately, I am mostly into rock, metalcore (bands like While She Sleeps) but also Paramore, A Day To Remember, Amity Affliction, Guns & Roses, Disturbed, 2Cellos, Lindsey Stirling, ...
I love reading, lately, I am focusing on biographies and scientific readings, but I am deeply in love with all of Ken Follett's work. Also, Dan Brown's books are really nice, even though I prefer the less known ones like Deception Point or Crypto. Many of the classics too: Picture of Dorian Gray; 1984; And some of the lesser-known ones like: Born to Run; Wisdom of Crowds ...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Four truths and two lies:
- Walked 1000km in Spain
- Flew a plane in Holland
- Bungee Jumping in Poland
- Visited all countries in Europe
- Skydived solo in Italy
- Scuba dived in Egypt

Tell me which are the two lies ;)

Teach, Learn, Share

I LOVE cooking, so I can teach you how to cook many Italian dishes (yes, I do also know vegetarian and vegan recipes - even if we don't have many vegan ones), the basics of juggling, and tips and tricks to make pasta and coffee the Italian way ;)
Also, I've been practicing parkour for over 8 years now, so if you're interested I can give you some advice on how to start, or what to do, or just talk about it.
Since I work in an IT company, also anything Computer Science related

What I Can Share with Hosts

I LOVE cooking. I can teach you some recipes or cook you some nice meals (lately I'm more into baking, but I always love to try out new recipes)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, Netherlands, Poland

Join Couchsurfing to see Elia’s full profile.

My Groups