Ellie, Tashi and Lulu Smale-Fletcher's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellie, Tashi and Lulu’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 39, Other
  • Member since 2009
  • Flexible artist/Full time mum
  • Art, psychology, theatre, film, costume, sculpting, puppe...
  • From Grew up in Cornwall - the green south west of the UK
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

re-discover a world of wonders

ABOUT ME

We are Ellie, Tashi and our little girl Lulu who is almost one year old. After a year of working in Central and South America, we arrived in Sheffield 18 months ago, with a bump. We're endlessly discovering new things that make us happy we chose Sheffield; its a great city - great community spirit, creative and green.

Before we left the UK we had been living and loving in London, enjoying people and parties, food and drink, working and playing hard. We have toned all that down these days - enjoying more simple, cheaper and more child friendly pleasures. Walking the beautiful Peak District as often as the weather, time and Lulu will allow.

I (Ellie) am a sculptor and I believe passionately in the healing power of creativity. This has brought about my workshops with young people, which I have practiced in London and on my travels.

Tashi has tried out just about everything, from acting to HR to toying with the idea of a PhD in Philosophy to secondary teaching. All of these have enriched his life but haven't quite fit. What seemed to be missing all along was a physical connection with the world. He is currently studying and volunteering in environmental conservation with a particular interest in trees.

Having Lulu has transformed our lives in ways we could never have imagined. It is only now, one year on, that I can think about doing anything other than care for her. I am just gearing up for starting to do some work in Sheffield. And we are finally able to host couchsurfers.

PHILOSOPHY

Bring play and beauty to the world; see, hear, feel, taste, love and laugh and giggle and dance!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I came across couchsurfing years ago - I think its just genius. Surfing one couch when arriving in Sheffield, I mainly have used CS to meet some lovely people in both Bogota and Sheffield. Now we've finally settled down we have a spare room, with bedding to offer.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Meeting new friends.

Interests

Delicious world foods. Eating. Cooking. Festivals. Connections. Special friends. Wind. Sun. Water. Trees. Clay. Earth. Great sounds. Making up new words. Art from the heart. Making it happen. Authenticity. Puppets. Wonderment. Playing. Awakening the wild within. Walking, Swimming. Cycling. Writing. Reading. Breathing deeply....

  • arts
  • writing
  • acting
  • beauty
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • walking
  • partying
  • drinking
  • reading
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Gabriel Garcia Marquez esp Love in the Time of Cholera, Jack Kerouac, Tim Burton, science fiction, Michel Gondry, The Coen brothers, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Pedro Almodovar, squidgy breakbeat electro, beautiful violin solos, folk music of many different places, balkan beats, the slightly strange n haunting saquatchi (spelt wrong) ... and so much more I know i love when i hear it.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Standing high on the moors in Cornwall and leaning horizontally against the wind. Working on a veg farm in California that could double for paradise. A set of hot springs next to a cold and rushing river in a tranquillo valley in Panama. Burning Man festival.. it rocked my heart n soul!! The Appelation trail, USA.. (not that Ive hiked the entire thing or anything!). Getting pregnant. Having a baby and surviving an entire year!

Teach, Learn, Share

"Creativity is the language of the soul".

Countries I’ve Visited

France, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Colombia, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellie, Tashi and Lulu’s full profile. It’s free!