Emily Piccon's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Emily’s full profile.

Overview

  • 48 references 29 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Student
  • Mechanical Engineering for Underwater Robots
  • From Kempten, Bavaria, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT TRAVELS 🧳

After living one year in Florida - CS in Germany (May2020)
CS in Belarus , Minsk (June2020)
Traveling and working in Turkey (July/August 2020)
Macedonia (September2020)
Poland (Oktober/November2020)
Lithuania/Latvia (November2020)
Estonia (December2020)
Poland (December/January2021)

Currently: Studying online, Freelancing and teaching online German

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

~It is all about the people~
~Bir aptal servet hayal eder; bilge bir adam, mutluluk~
~Слово—серебро, молчание—золото~

Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild precious life? - Mary Oliver

I'm originally from Germany but lived and studied Ocean Engineering in Florida. I quit my apartment a while ago and started traveling around with my red backpack. I don't really feel like being German, I prefer to live and work somewhere else, at a new place I haven't seen before.

In general, I'm very social, I enjoy many sports so I do rowing, climbing, diving, playing saxophone, ukulele, and I'm a crewmember on traditional sailing vessels. Also, I love to try new things, to cover my days with lots of activities, and to be outside all the time. While it may be too much sometimes, it gives me the chance to widen my perspective and to get connected to different kinds of people. Spending time with friends, laughing, new experiences...at all, I try to enjoy life as best as I can.

If there is a chance to go out, I travel as often as possible. To get to know new people and new places is beautiful. To zoom out of everyday life and feeling more yourself. That's my inspiration for traveling.

You can also find me on Instagram @emi97pi

Interested in learning German?
https://preply.com/en/tutor/766411/?ssr=true
Haha yes, that's me!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

For me, it's all about the people I meet and not necessary to save money. It is way more exciting to get connected with locals instead of being the stereotypical tourist just moving from hotel to hotel.
So yeah, everyone's lives in a different way, with different standards, expectations, and habits - I can't get enough of that, so inspiring.

Interests

I already do a lot of sports but always love to try new ones.

  • outdoor activities
  • sailing
  • rowing
  • adventure travel
  • ukulele
  • sea
  • saxophone

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to different types of music. What I prefer most:
Songs of the 80's / 90's as Robert Miles - Children, Pink Floyd - Learning to Fly, Daryl Hall & John Oates - Maneater, Micheal Sembelo - Maniac, Johnny Hates Jazz - Shattered Dreams, Mike Oldfield - To France, Madonna - La Isla Bonita, Chris Isaak - Wicked Game;
Electro Swing music as Parov Stelar - Booty Swing/ Catgroove/ Al Night;
Indie-Folk as Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Angus and Julia Stone, Aurora, M83

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Lived one week with soldiers on their minehunter and experienced their everyday life.
Hitchhiked 2 weeks through Norway to get there on a sailing vessel.
A lot of sailing as a crew on a 100 ft and a 213 ft traditional sailing vessel.

Teach, Learn, Share

Couchsurfing Hosts (since May 2020)

Germany 🇩🇪
Julia - Bremerhaven
Theresa - Bremerhaven
Laurence - Bremerhaven
Leoni - Köln
Uwe & Leslie - Bremen
Jutta & Bernd - Hamburg

Belarus 🇧🇾
Taya & Arseniy - Minsk
Chris - Minsk

Turkey 🇹🇷
Metin - Istanbul
Hüseyin - Istanbul
Ufuk - Ankara
Mussi - Düzce

Macedonia 🇲🇰
Aya - Ohrid

Poland 🇵🇱
Michał- Warsaw
Angana - Warsaw
Romek - Warsaw
Peru - Warsaw
Vandana - Warsaw
Alba & Nika - Gdansk
Ivan - Warsaw
Paweł - Warsaw
Daniela, Vandana, Agata - Warsaw

Lithuania 🇱🇹
Jose - Kaunas
Toufik- Vilnius
Sharif - Vilnius
Rokas - Kaunas

Latvia 🇱🇻
Liga - Riga

Estonia 🇪🇪
Yuri - Tallinn
Sergai - Tallinn

What I Can Share with Hosts

Let's cook together, explore the area, talk some German, enjoy the night live or play some songs on my ukulele

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belarus, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belarus, Germany, Poland, Turkey, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Emily’s full profile.