Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see EC’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 23 References 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Catalan, Valencian, English, Portuguese, Sign Language - Italian, Spanish; learning Arabic (North Levantine), Greek (modern), Turkish
  • 47, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • online business owner
  • Formal: BA ; MA + Film school
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Currently in Ukraine. Greece over Holidays 2015... Might be able to host.

PHILOSOPHY

I travel with a fold-up bike and like to explore cities on it (even in winter), go to cafes and read or write, taste good local food (I'm mostly a vegetarian, but relaxed about it: I sometimes eat fish).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I used to be more active. I feel CS has hit a growth pain since getting so big... BUT.. that said, I have personally had a fantastic experience with the people who I've both hosted and stayed with. It takes persistence, and luck, but excellent CS experiences are still possible.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have stayed with people for short and long periods of time, and welcomed people into my home for short and long periods of time in places I've lived, from Philadelphia, LA, NYC, Barcelona, and Damascus.

Interests

Languages: love them!

biking and running; museum hopping; getting outdoors more; cool bar/restaurant hopping (when the budget permits it). languages, idiomas, lingue, llengües, langues,

  • fish
  • dining
  • cooking
  • baking
  • vegetarian
  • running
  • chess
  • traveling
  • music
  • piano
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • muslim
  • languages
  • religion

Music, Movies, and Books

Some music: accoustic guitar, Arabic/Persian/Pakistani rhythms, classical piano, some opera, some jazz, classic RB. But I'm really open to other's tastes and getting a better musical "education".

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I volunteered in West Bank as a peace activist. I volunteered in inner city Philadelphia as a community organiser. I moderated discussions between Guatemalan shamans, Indian gurus, Islamic philosophers and church representatives at a Parliament of World Religions one year.

Teach, Learn, Share

- I went to film school but I'm missing huge gaps in my film knowledge, so a good movie is always an option :) but, also:

- intermediate chess
- piano 4 hands (if you have a keyboard or piano, we can download free sheet music and be playing something intermediate within 20 min - while the quiche is baking!)
- some african polyrhythms on a dumbek or any good noise making)
- cooking
- being a sightseer

What I Can Share with Hosts

Stories, laughs, friendship, food.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Syrian Arab Republic, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Chile, Greece, Japan, Peru, Poland, Spain, Turkey, Ukraine, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see EC’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups