Eric Varela's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 35% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Eric’s full profile.

Overview

  • 22 references 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish
  • 40, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Specialist in Renewable Energies
  • Industrial Automation Engineering
  • From Mexico
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey there, I'm Eric and moved to Charlotte recently. I was born and raised in Mexico, but I've lived in France (Paris), Stockholm (Sweden), and the US (Seattle) over the last 15 years. I am a specialist in high technology for electrical grids because I like machines, computers and innovation. Other than that, I like hearing stories and learning traditions from people from other countries in the world.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like having fun and having a good time with people. I enjoy the feeling of sharing normal things such as a meal, a coffee, a conversation, you name it. I like people who realize how fortunate we are just to have another day to go on with our lives.

Traveling is another of the things that I enjoy, and I like to meet travelers and show them a bit of the city in which I live in.

I'm located in the 1st Ward neighborhood in Charlotte Uptown and I can offer a couch to crash if you need one.

Interests

I enjoy bouldering/rock climbing, hiking or being in the outdoors, and training calisthenics.

Other interests are biographies and stories of people in the world, being in contact with nature, learning technology, dancing salsa or bachata, photography, watching sports (especially soccer), and eating tasty food.

  • culture
  • photography
  • dancing
  • dining
  • coffee
  • running
  • technology
  • traveling
  • watching sports
  • socializing
  • bouldering
  • guitar
  • outdoor activities
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • soccer

Music, Movies, and Books

I like books in French and Spanish... I've started reading a lot of books in English recently.

My favorite music is the Indie genre in English, Spanish, or French, but I'm also open to other genres.

Generally, I enjoy diverse types of music. I used to play the guitar, but not so much nowadays.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When I was working in Mexico for an oil company. One day when I was in the middle of the jungle doing some on-call work, I woke up in the morning, got out from the trailer and the first thing that I saw outside was this really huge Anaconda (about 6 meters long) and the jaws of that "pretty thing" were jammed in the fence of my house =O!

Teach, Learn, Share

I enjoy meeting people with an adventurous spirit, people who have the envy to travel and learn about the world by exploring it (it is by this way that we can have the impression that the world is so huge and interesting that a lifetime is not enough to learn about all of it).

I really like to learn from people with stories, we are humans and everyone has a story to tell. We do not do things wrong, those are experiences and we can learn from our experiences.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Time and adventures!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, Costa Rica, Denmark, France, Germany, Indonesia, Mali, Qatar, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Mexico, Sweden, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Eric’s full profile.