Logo orange

Erin Olioff

Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Wants to Meet Up

15% response rate · Last login about 23 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Erin 's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 99 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Chinese, German, Italian, Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Yoga teacher
  • University drop out
  • From Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Creating a home for myself in Karlsruhe after traveling for 5 years around the world.

ABOUT ME

I dropped out of University at the age of 19 with the intention of educating myself through experience. I travelled continuously until I turned 25 when I went to stay in India and learn to become a yoga teacher.

I love learning languages and having deep experiences with local culture.

At this stage traveling for me no longer requires constantly moving around and changing my external surroundings. I am now looking to bring the journey inwards and plant my feet back on the ground. I want to share and be a part of a local community and participate by teaching yoga, gardening and volunteering my time with refugees in Karlsruhe.

PHILOSOPHY

I am just as important as I am unimportant to everyone else.

I am forever a student.

To make a positive contribution to the world to what ever degree - Through smiling and treating people with respect, through being a positive human being, through telling an inspiring story etc.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I opened up and shared my flat in London 2012 with several surfers over the summer & organized for surfers to meet friends for my home keys when I was away.

These days I am mostly using couch surfing to meet with local people and gain a deeper connection to the place I am in.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Hosting:A fantastic way to see the city I live in through new eyes and experience parts of it I would not have thought to visit. I have met some incredible, open minded people hosting surfers in London.Surfing:I couch surfed in Paris and then in Italy where I met someone who really inspired me to open up my flat to more travelers. I took my mother couch surfing in Chicago & she absolutely loved it, she wants to get more involved in the couch surfing community. I couch surfed with my boyfriend in the SW of Poland when our accommodations fell through and we met the coolest couple ever. I couch surfed alone in Kracow & in Prague and met the kindest, most generous and inspiring people.I couch surfed outside of Barcelona & in Basque country Spain where I was welcomed into families homed & shown incredible hospitality.

I was able to get to many beautiful climbing places in Italy & Colombia through meeting couch surfers.

Interests

NATURE and in particular MOUNTAINS
Climbing, Trekking and would LOVE to learn Alpinism
natural living, natural beauty
medicinal plants
learning how to survive in the nature
languages (would love to learn Arabic, Hindi, German, Portuguese Japanese, Russian) alternative & natural medicine
Massage
Alternative therapies
I absolutely LOVE to be around children and I believe they have much to teach us
Adventuring, exploring, discovering new places and ideas
I love to be barefoot

Music, Movies & Books

I love music from the Middle East & India...Pedro Almodovar films - Todo sobre tu madre, La mala educacion, Hable con ella to name a few.Como Agua para chocolate Western classicsAmelie!In the Name of the FatherKung Fu movies!! Ip Man!Books : Siddhartha, Life of Pie, Extremly Loud & Incredibly Close

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I stayed in a Buddhist temple in Northern Thailand for over a month where I was approached by a Burmese nun who asked me to live with her in a forest. I stayed with her for a few weeks. Getting on a one-way bus to NYC with my best friend Kelty with $10 in my pocket and a maxed out credit card and then ending up just living there for several months...Mountain biking through the jungle in SE Asia.Living with families in Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Colombia, Taiwan, Hong Kong, China, Cambodia, Thailand, Nepal, Spain, Germany, France, Italy Getting on a one way flight to Tokyo, again with my best friend Kelty, having absolutely no idea what was in store for us. Having no plan and very little money. Not leaving Asia for an entire year....Studying traditional Thai massage with my Thai teacher who is also my "Thai mother" and staying with her family in a small village in the North of ThailandTesting out "being homeless" in HK before discovering the wonderous Lamma Island....Hitch hiking across Poland with truck driversSpending 10 days living with the Bhikkhuni nuns in Northern Thailand and participating in the construction of a temple.Buying a boy I met on a river in Costa Rica a flight to Singapore six months after we had met.... Traveling together around Asia & Europe for 3 years and falling in love with him.

Living on the East coast of Taiwan with several different Taiwanese people - Organic farmers, Aboriginal wood carving artist, University professors, my Tai Chi teacher, a social worker and a lovely family with twin three year old girls, a six year old, mother, father, and grandmother!

Rock climbing in Trentino, Liguria, Sardinia, Colombia, Taiwan

Hiring a guide to take me into the Amazon jungle and learn how to survive
Staying with an indigenous tribe

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share my experiences from my four and a half years of traveling around the world.

I can give you a massage.

We can do a language exchange - I need to learn German!

We can go exploring through the forest together.

I would love for you to teach me vegetarian cooking.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Cambodia, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, Germany, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Taiwan, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Erin 's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile