Fergus Mathews's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Fergus’s full profile.

Overview

  • 61 references 49 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Spanish; learning Irish, Portuguese
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Physiotherapist, Massage therapist, Pilates instructor, ...
  • School, University, & Life
  • From Hafnarfjörður, Capital, Iceland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi Im Fergus. Im an Irishman living in Iceland. I'm a traveller at heart and I like to connect with other travellers when I'm settled.
I'm fascinated by the diversity of life and I want in some way to try and appreciate as much of it as I can before the sun sets.
I really like languages and the doors they can open. I hope to pick up some more over the years.
Im a big lover of food. One of the great pleasures in life. If you can cook you can stay :D
But really just trying to make sense of and find the balance in this wild ride we're on.

PHILOSOPHY

Carpe Diem; Try anything once, Don't judge a book by its cover, 2nd chances but not 3rd, One thing leads to another so get busy...;)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I wanna connect with people and enjoy life in ways that don't exist in 'normal' life. It's a beautiful thing to be offered a room with no expectations and complete trust. I stayed with a few people between Colombia, Brazil and Bolivia. I also stayed in a couples VW campervan in Biarritz.
Last year Ispent 2 nights in Nashville and 2 nights in New Orleans.

I've hosted a lot of people over the years both on Couchsurfing and Airbnb. I love being a host. It's a real pleasure. Would love to open a hostel with a bar someday

Interests

Reading, Travelling, Salsa, Sports, Climbing, Massage, Physiotherapy, Languages, Life...

  • dining
  • cooking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • skydiving
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • business
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Classical, classic rock, Reggae, Salsa
James Michener, James Clavell, Wilbur Smith, Alexandre Dumas, Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Big Eyes, Out of the Furnace, The Pianist, The Motorcycle Diaries

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Summitted Huayana Potosi in Bolivia @ 6,080 Metres
Woke up from Open Heart Surgery :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach Languages, Physio, and whatever Ive learned over the years
I wanna learn about you, your home, your food, and your language
I can share my stories and my bread :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook for you

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Lithuania, Mexico, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ecuador, France, Germany, Ireland, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Fergus’s full profile.

My Groups