Felix's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Felix’s full profile.

Overview

  • 167 references 131 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Spanish; learning Chinese (Simplified), Russian, Spanish
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • No occupation listed
  • University of Vienna
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Meet people, make friends, have conversations, 学习中文.

ABOUT ME

这几个句子是对中文母语者或者会说中文的人说的。

大家好!我去年新冠病毒隔离的时候开始学习中文。我很努力地学习了一年多了,而且虽然我现在还不会流利的说话但是我觉得有很多进步。我一直在寻找让我练习说中文的机会。因为现在所有我的活动需要一个学中文的联系,所以我认为接待会说中文的客人会太棒了。因此如果你是中文母语人士请发给我小小要求,我会非常开心接待你只要没有其他客人。当然,你可以用汉字给我写你的要求,只要我看得懂,我就会回答你。所有你需要的信息都可以在我的简介找到。万一你看不懂英语,请不要害怕麻烦,我随时欢迎你的任何问题。

祝你一切顺利!

I'm a somewhat nerdy, civilized guy who enjoys couchsurfing for the opportunity it gives to meet a broad range of people from all over the world and get to know them on a personal level. I'm sincere and somewhat idealistic about this. The difference between couchsurfing and other ways of traveling isn't just that there's no money involved but that the absence of money opens up the possibility of a personal give and take that can be much more rewarding. I like to meet people who are on the same page about this.

I enjoy good, healthy food and am a pretty good cook (if I say so myself). I like to go hiking (can take you if you want), running, cycling (my bike is my main mode of transportation and if you feel cofortable with cycling in the city I can lend you one; it's the best way to get to know the city, imo), swimming (in summer I can take you to my favorite spots). I'm into music, language, history and all sorts of nerdy topics. Perfect way to spend an evening for me is to sit somewhere outside, with a nice view, on a warm summer day, enjoying a meal with a bunch of good friends, having a few drinks and getting pleasantly buzzed, and watching the sun go down while chatting well into the night.

I guess I should also admit one thing up front, if it didn't come across yet: I like to think of myself as friendly and easy-going but I'm not the anything goes type of couchsurfing host. I like my apartment and try to take good care of it and I don't like it when it's treated like a hostel or a campsite. "Hey, can I bring those dudes I met while hitchhiking along? They're totally cool and they don't mind sleeping on the floor." isn't going to do it for me because *I* mind them sleeping on the floor. I don't like having to step over luggage and sleeping bags and I like things to be more or less tidy. I like to have good relationships with my neighbors so I try to respect quiet times. If you can live with that for a couple of days we're going to be alright.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I used to be very involved in the Couchsurfing scene in Vienna and elsewhere, hosting, traveling, organizing events and all that, but I‘ve taken a step back from it in recent years and during the pandemic it all seems to have died down a bit. I‘d like to get back into it a little bit and rediscover some of the wonderful experiences I used to have here.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've had tons of amazing encounters, some meh ones, and a few I could have done without. No catastrophes though and overall it's been great.

Interests

I‘ve already mentioned everything important in the about me section, I think. But my interests are broad and, even if nothing I‘ve mentioned resonates with you in particular, there‘s usually something I have in common with everyone.

Music, Movies, and Books

I read a lot, both non-fiction and fiction. When it comes to fiction, I most enjoy sci-fi, fantasy and historical fiction. In particular I like the Dune series, Hyperion Cantos, Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett and Patrick O'Brian. I think I've mentioned somewhere that I'm a nerd.

I have a special thing for Jazz, Blues, Soul and Funk from the mid-to-late 20th century. Favorites are Thelonious Monk, Nina Simone, James Brown, Parliament-Funcadelic. Dunno why, just always liked it.

My taste in movies and TV kinda mirrors my taste in books. Can't wait for the Dune movie to come out and really enjoyed The Expanse recently. Also really love Studio Ghibli films.

Teach, Learn, Share

Can probably teach you something about cooking and absolutely love making food for people, so always happy to share that. Other than that, good conversations, learning from each other and the world, that sort of thing.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Happy to cook for you, take you out for food and drinks, or just have a chat and spend some time!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Canada, Ukraine

Old School Badges

  • 3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Felix’s full profile.

My Groups