Fergus Denton's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Fergus’s full profile.

Overview

  • 7 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Portuguese
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Graduate
  • History degree
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

-I've recently graduated and I’m fortunate enough to be travelling again for a while. I enjoy playing sports, especially rugby and football, and have always been involved with a club when I'm in one place for long enough! I like to listen to music/dance and used to enjoy going out more, but nowadays I prefer more relaxed music and spending time with friends (for example playing chess). I'm always up for a good hike and trying new things :)

[Acabo de graduar hace poco tiempo y afortunadamente tenga la suerte de viajar otra vez. A mi me gustan los deportes, especialmente rugby y fútbol, y siempre he jugado con un club si estuviera en un sitio por bastante tiempo! Me gusta escuchar a música/bailar y antes salía de noche mucho más, pero hoy en día prefiero escuchar a música más relejado y pasando tiempo con amigos (por ejemplo jugando ajedrez). Siempre tengo ganas de explorar y hacer una excursión]

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

-Because I’m travelling in order to get to know the people and local culture. Spending time with locals rather than other travellers in various hostels is the best way to properly develop friendships and achieve this. Moreover, I lived in NZ for one year straight after school and thanks to loads of cool and helpful people it was the best year of my life without a doubt. Since then I've decided that the best way to meet such interesting people again is to try and return the favour to other strangers.

[Porque viajo para conocer la gente y cultura local. Pasando tiempo con los locales en lugar que otros viajeros en hostales es la mejor manera de desenrollar amistades y lograr eso. Además, viví en NZ por un año immediamente después del colegio y gracias a mucha gente maja fue el mejor año de mi vida, sin duda. Desde entonces he decidido que la mejor manera de conecer gente interesante otra vez es intentar devolver el favor a desconocidos]

-I did a lot of hitch-hiking during that trip as well and I think that an open minded approach to life and a willingness 'just to help a fellow traveler' is important.

[Hice el dedo a menudo durante el viaje por NZ también y creo que una mente abierta sobre el mundo y ganas de 'ayudar otro viajero' es importante]

Interests

-I'm a rugby fanatic, and always will be (although I dislike the culture that surrounds it). I like to play sports in general, especially invasion games such as football etc, yet I also enjoy games such as badminton and padel. I'm always keen to get outside and have a run around with a ball basically.

[Soy un fanático de rugby, y siempre será (aunque a mi no me gusta la cultura de rugby tanto). En general me gustan los deportes, del estilo con dos equipos y dos goles, sin embargo me gusta badminton y padel. Basicamente siempre tengo ganas de estar fuera y jugar con una pelota.]

-I also love listening to music but sadly I can't play any instruments. I have spent the past few years working at music festivals during my holidays and enjoy contributing towards such events where people are able to let off some steam and express themselves! I like to dance but I’m quite shy.

[Además me gusta escuchar a música pero lamentablemente no puedo tocar ningun instrumento. He pasado los últimos años trabajando a festivales de música durante las vacaciones y me gusta contribuir a esos eventos donde la gente se puede expresarse y desconectarse. Me gusta bailar pero estoy bastante tímido]

-I read when I can and enjoy keeping up with world events by reading the news almost everyday. Recently I have become more interested in cooking, and like to learn new dishes/techniques to keep things interesting. I'm keen to keep improving my Spanish and hopefully live abroad again in the not to distant future!

[Leo cuando puedo y sigo las noticias casi cada día. Recientemente me ha interesado cocinar más, y me gustaría aprender más platos. Quiero mejorar mi español y espero vivir en el extranjero pronto]

  • animals
  • diy
  • environment
  • clubbing
  • news
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • sports
  • rugby
  • history
  • hitchhiking
  • exploring

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Heart of Darkness, The Eagle has Landed, The Conquistadors, Life of Pi, The First Crusade, Brian Moore's Autobiography,
Movies: The Departed, Jaws, Monty Python:The meaning of life, Fargo, The Godfather,Gladiator, L.A Confidential, Midnight Cowboy.
Music: John Martyn, Silvio Rodríguez, Manu Chao, Massive Attack, Portishead, Bob Dylan, Simon & Garfunkel, The Prodigy, Nina Simone, Led Zeppelin, The Police, Shackleton, Optimo, Sade, Dido, Queen, Pink Floyd.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

+ EVS (European Voluntary Service): I spent one year via a European scheme volunteering for the Red Cross in a residency for vulnerable people.

[SVE (Servicio Voluntario de Europea): Pasé un año por una programa Europea de voluntario por la Cruz Roja en una residencia para gente vulnerable.]

+ Working holiday visa in NZ.

[Viviendo y trabajando en NZ por un año.]

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you about rugby, and share what little knowledge/experiences I have picked up on my travels concerning other countries such as NZ or Spain. I particularly enjoy chatting about current affairs and anything history related.

[Te puedo enseñar rugby, y compartir que poca sabiduría/experiencias que he cogido durante mis viajes por países como NZ o España. En particular me gusta charlar sobre que pasa por el mundo hoy en día y todo relacianado con historia]

What I Can Share with Hosts

-I'm more than happy to give you a hand with things at home. I'm used to helping out loads at home with DIY and gardening so don't worry about it. I also have experience with animals. Whatever really, I'm open to trying new things and helping run local errands.

[A mi no me importa darte una mano por la casa, de hecho el contrario. Estoy acostumbrado echar una mano por casa de mi madre con bricolaje, o por el jardín entonces no te preocupes. Además tengo experiencia con animales. Lo que sea, me gustar probar cosas nuevas, aprender y ver la vida de un local.]

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, Croatia, Greece, Hong Kong, Italy, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, New Zealand, Scotland, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Fergus’s full profile.

My Groups